EPG not updating WMC Guide

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

EPG not updating WMC Guide

Post#1 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:05 pm

Sorry New to this all

I've read through the forums and havent been able to solve my issue yet.
Initial setup loaded 21 days of the guide but does not load anymore

I've deleted and recreated the task with elevated permissions to be safe, didn't help

Trace log below doesnt seem to show any errors

10/15/2017 5:00:03 AM] ===============================================================================
[10/15/2017 5:00:03 AM] Beginning epg123 client execution.
[10/15/2017 5:00:03 AM] ===============================================================================
[10/15/2017 5:00:03 AM] [ INFO] Beginning epg123 client execution. 2017-10-15 10:00:03Z
[10/15/2017 5:00:03 AM] [ INFO] Import: True , Match: True , NoLogo: False , Force: False
[10/15/2017 5:00:03 AM] [ INFO] epg123 client version: 1.1.17 for Win7
[10/15/2017 5:00:04 AM] Entering importMxfFile() for file "C:\epg123\epg123.mxf"
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] [ INFO] Successfully imported .mxf file into Media Center database. Exit code: 0
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] Exiting importMxfFile(). SUCCESS.
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] [ INFO] Completed the automatch of lineup stations to tuner channels.
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] Entering reindexDatabase()
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] [ INFO] SUCCESS: Attempted to run the scheduled task "Microsoft\Windows\Media Center\ReindexSearchRoot".
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] [ INFO] Successfully started the ReindexSearchRoot task. Exit code: 0
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] Exiting reindexDatabase(). SUCCESS.
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] [ INFO] Completed EPG123 client execution.
[10/15/2017 5:00:17 AM] [ INFO] EPG123 client execution time was 00:00:13.8372243.


Please help, i only have 2 days of guide left
Fillbach
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 October 2017

Post#2 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:52 pm

It looks like your scheduled task is "Client Mode". You are importing the same mxf file everyday which is not being updated. Use the client GUI, delete your task, select the "Full Mode" radio button and create your task again.

To get it updated immediately, open the configuration GUI and click the Save & Execute button.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2708
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#3 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:41 pm

@Fillbach

How did it turn out?
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1543
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#4 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:57 am

I'm having similar problems. I was having problems with my Rovi guide and finally decided to switch to EPG123 a couple weeks ago. I followed the instructions during installation and everything seemed to go well. The EPG123 guide works great, but I must've done something wrong. My guide data doesn't seem to be updating and is going to end on 10/22. I deleted the task because I think mine was also in "Client" mode, then I selected the "Full Mode" radio button to create the task again. Then I opened the EPG123 Configuration tool and picked the Save & Execute button. The progress bar showed it successfully completing 8/8 tasks.

After this, I opened up WMC and it still shows that the guide data only goes until 10/22.

Attached are screenshots of my EPG123 Client Tool and EPG123 Configuration Tool.

EPG123clientguide.JPG


EPG123configuration.JPG
GreggP
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 January 2013

Post#5 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:22 am

You probably need to look at the trace.log file in the epg123 folder for errors. May need to post an excerpt here.
webminster
 
Posts: 652
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan

Post#6 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 4:51 am

@GreggP: Also, could you fill us in on your setup? You appear to have 9999 channels for a cable/satellite, but also have a pretty healthy ATSC lineup but only 100012 channels? Also, curious where all the station call signs of ...swap-XX came from?

A cut/paste of your trace log history for the last 1 or 2 runs will help. After the Save & Execute completed the 8/8 tasks, there should have been another window pop up showing progress of the import. If you didn't see that, than it didn't happen. Were you recording something at the time?

Another quick way to import the data would be to click the [Manual Import] button and select the epg123.mxf file.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2708
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#7 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 3:25 pm

garyan2 wrote:@GreggP: Also, could you fill us in on your setup? You appear to have 9999 channels for a cable/satellite, but also have a pretty healthy ATSC lineup but only 100012 channels? Also, curious where all the station call signs of ...swap-XX came from?

A cut/paste of your trace log history for the last 1 or 2 runs will help. After the Save & Execute completed the 8/8 tasks, there should have been another window pop up showing progress of the import. If you didn't see that, than it didn't happen. Were you recording something at the time?

Another quick way to import the data would be to click the [Manual Import] button and select the epg123.mxf file.


1st. The guide updated correctly. I think the first time I tried (after changing from 'client' to 'full'), I had WMC shut down. I tried it again with WMC running and now my guide data is populated to 11/2.

2nd. I don't know where those channel counts come from. About my setup...

I have an HTPC connected to my home network via 1gig ethernet. A couple of HDHomeRuns (one CableCard Prime with 3 tuners, and the original 2 tuner ATSC/QAM HDHomeRun set to ATSC) connected to the network as well.

Prior to using EPG123, I've been using WMC with the default guide data since it first came out. This was when Charter (my cable company) first starting providing HD programming. At that time, my family (wife and 2 young daughters) were used to the basic channel lineup -- channel 5 WMTV (NBC), channel 7 WKOW (ABC), etc. The HD channels were assigned numbers in the 600s. Instead of having to relearn channels, I decided to use WMC's channel editing feature to just remap the channels from their 600 number to their basic number. So 615 WMTVHD (NBCHD) was swapped with channel 5, etc. When swapped, the guide showed the HD channel assigned to the basic number and the SD channel assigned to the HD number. I would enable the basic numbers and disable the swapped HD numbers.

A few weeks ago, we noticed that all of our channels were screwed up. The ROVI data was showing stations we didn't get. It was a complete mess. I tried reloading the guide data, but it just wouldn't work. I even tried to re-run the TV setup, because I thought maybe some file was corrupted. Then I checked to see if the ROVI data was messed up in J.River Media Center v23, which also has a TV feature similar to WMC. The guide data in JRMCv23 was also messed up. Reading that this problem had occurred in other locations and was solved by switching to EPG123, I decided to make the switch.

When I installed EPG123, I think I followed the instructions step-by-step, but may have missed important details... I selected all the channels that we use, which are just the HD channels. When I edited my guide channel lineup, I performed the same swap. The HD channels in the 600s were swapped with the basic channels. This time, since the basic channels were not selected in EPG123, they weren't assigned to anything, so they came up blank. So when 5 (blank) became 615, I named 615 wmtvswap-5. Probably an unnecessary step since this channel is disabled.

So if I've made my setup unnecessarily complex, what do you recommend I do to make it simpler?

Thanks for your help!!!
GreggP
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 January 2013

Post#8 » Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:33 am

Response to 1st... WMC doesn't have to be running to get updated. Not sure why it didn't show unless it was still trying to process/index the data for some reason (or it didn't successfully import). If there is nothing in the trace.log file to indicate a problem, then just chalk it up to WMC.

Response to 2nd.. The numbers came from the bottom of the client GUI. I just thought the number would be bigger unless you don't get all your OTA channels and/or deleted some channels. I see why you did the renaming of your channels, but think it only benefits you when looking at the channels in WMC to tell them apart. You notice that in EPG123 Client it only shows the original number, so even though you renumber 615 to 5, it will still show it as 615 ... and 5 is still 5.

As far as I can tell, you're good-to-go. Happy DVR'ing.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2708
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net


Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron