WMC Tuner Install step hanging

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

WMC Tuner Install step hanging

Post#1 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:54 pm

If have two HDHomerun Prime's and when I get to the last step in the WMC TV Signal Configuration (where it registers/Activates CableCard), I hit 'Next' and it just hangs.
I have made sure the HD's are up to date. I have tried it several times and it hangs every time.
I started with Step 1 to do a 'Clean' install.

Has anyone run into this before? Since I can't get past this, it is preventing me from installing epg123.
chaycock
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 September 2016

Post#2 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:45 pm

How long are you waiting? IIRC it takes a few minutes at least since it's creating 10000 empty channels for your tuners.
stuartm
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 5 November 2012
Location: Longmont, CO
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#3 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 11:53 pm

I gave up after 30 minutes. Should it take longer than that?

Also, when I set it up originally (years ago), it did not take long at all to move past this step.
chaycock
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 September 2016

Post#4 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:32 am

Disable the Windows Firewall.
User avatar
Scallica
 
Posts: 2375
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: USA!
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Post#5 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:51 am

This is the step where you are told:

The following TV signals will be configured ...
Digital Cable (CableCARD ...
Select Next to confirm.

Correct?

I just ran the setup thru that step on a fairly low power laptop
(although it does have a SSD for the system disk)

And it took roughly 5 minutes and then asked me to update playready
This was for 4 tuners on my 2 Primes.
Try Scallica's advice to disable the firewall.
stuartm
 
Posts: 327
Joined: 5 November 2012
Location: Longmont, CO
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#6 » Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:15 am

Also, with the primes, it is probably not a bad idea to cycle the power on the tuners as well. Though I think this mainly has to do with WMC not seeing the tuners so you might already be past the point when that issue typically occurs.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2204
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net


Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron