v1.1.11 Release

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Re: v1.1.11 Release

Post#41 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 1:56 pm

garyan2 wrote:I'm not familiar with the Ceton drivers, but I guess it is possible that they could apply the fix automatically, but from reports I've seen from other InfiniTV users the fix has to be applied again after a Step 1 Clean Start.


I'm new to EPG just installed last night using the Ceton ETH, had issues as well with the 4 tuner limit, now that I've read some of the documentation, I actually needed to complete the tuner/signal setup completely, and then exit out, but I stopped the process when I only saw 4 tuners, and clicked the yes button to increase the limte to 32, but media center still showed 4 tuners, at that point I just reinstalled the ceton drivers, chose the repair option, and I was back in business.

Now that I think about it, it might be easier to just reinstall the ceton drivers, some times media center is a little slow with the setup, drivers install quickly, and then complete the setup MCE setup.
dbailey75
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 October 2012

Post#42 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:37 pm

When I did this last year with two Primes for six tuners I had to re-run Tuner Salad when switching to epg123.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1349
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#43 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:39 pm

dbailey75 wrote:
garyan2 wrote:I'm not familiar with the Ceton drivers, but I guess it is possible that they could apply the fix automatically, but from reports I've seen from other InfiniTV users the fix has to be applied again after a Step 1 Clean Start.


I'm new to EPG just installed last night using the Ceton ETH, had issues as well with the 4 tuner limit, now that I've read some of the documentation, I actually needed to complete the tuner/signal setup completely, and then exit out, but I stopped the process when I only saw 4 tuners, and clicked the yes button to increase the limte to 32, but media center still showed 4 tuners, at that point I just reinstalled the ceton drivers, chose the repair option, and I was back in business.

Now that I think about it, it might be easier to just reinstall the ceton drivers, some times media center is a little slow with the setup, drivers install quickly, and then complete the setup MCE setup.

Don't know if this had a play in your failure to see more tuners after EPG123 applied the tweak, but the proper sequence is below starting from a clean WMC database:

1. Open WMC and perform TV Setup with only 4 tuners. You can actually cancel the tuner channel scan as long as you click OK or Finish at the end... this commits your tuners into the database.
2. Close WMC.
3. Apply the tweak to increase tuner count.
4. Open WMC and perform TV Setup again, this time for real with up to 32 tuners per type.

Rules:
Tuners must already be in the WMC database to apply the fix to.
WMC will not recognize the higher number of tuners until it has been reopened after the tweak has been done.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#44 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 1:18 am

[quote="garyan2"]
1. ... click OK or Finish at the end... this commits your tuners into the database.
quote]

Gary, thanks for the quick response, i'm sure this is the step I missed, I may have just closed MCE. I'll be a little more patient this weekend on my second system.
dbailey75
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 11 October 2012

Previous

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ghostman and 1 guest

cron