After EPG123, WMC setup hangs

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

After EPG123, WMC setup hangs

Post#1 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:24 pm

I have successfully installed EPG123 on one computer on my home network. The second computer will not install. I have tried it several times. The clean start button will not work, so I used a safe boot and that worked. Then. I rebooted and went into WMC and went through the TV Setup. When it gets to the TV Signal Configuration screen and it attempts to configure my cable card tuners, it just hangs. I have tried this several times and let it run for three hours and it never finishes and moves on.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#2 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:29 pm

What tuners do you have? The HD primes tend to need a power cycle for some reason. Sounds like the InfiniTV tuners need to be "rediscovered" with the Ceton tool. You can actually click Cancel during the "Examinig TV Signals" stage and manually select your tuners assign the medium (satellite, digital cable, QAM, ATSC, ...)
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#3 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:20 pm

I have the Homerun Connect and the Prime. As a test, I tried to install just the Connect and it worked. Then, I started over and tried just the Prime and it still hangs. I cycled the Prime and still no go. I did it with the manual setup and the automatic setup. Both hang.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#4 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:28 pm

Where is it hanging? Is it during the TV Channel Scan? If so, just wait a little longer... WMC is preparing to "scan" 10000 channels so it can take some time to start.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#5 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:45 pm

Earlier today, I let it run for over 3 hours twice and nothing. I'll run it overnight and see.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#6 » Sun Jul 09, 2017 11:47 pm

dochockey wrote:Earlier today, I let it run for over 3 hours twice and nothing. I'll run it overnight and see.

Shouldn't take that long, probably less than a minute.

Any HD HomeRun Prime users have thoughts on this?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#7 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:14 am

It is very strange. I can go into Kodi and use NPVR with the Prime on the same computer. I can use HDHomerun View also. There has to be some conflict between the Prime and WMC. The Connect works fine with EPG123. I think I will try to uninstall WMC and then reinstall it.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#8 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:18 am

dochockey wrote:It is very strange. I can go into Kodi and use NPVR with the Prime on the same computer. I can use HDHomerun View also. There has to be some conflict between the Prime and WMC. The Connect works fine with EPG123. I think I will try to uninstall WMC and then reinstall it.

Before you do that, you can something that I've had some success with on the Connects. Open the HDHomerun Setup utility and change the BDA compatibility mode to Default and then to Windows Media Center. Try the setup after that.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#9 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:42 am

I would also add... make sure you are running the latest version of the SD HDHomeRun firmware/software drivers.
Zumaone
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 8 July 2017

Post#10 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 5:48 am

Well, none of that worked. Any other thoughts?
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#11 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:30 am

Just to check, I went through the setup for WMC with the regular setup. It recognized my Connect and my Prime and they both work (without a working EPG). So, it appears there is something going on with EPG123?
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#12 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:49 am

dochockey wrote:Just to check, I went through the setup for WMC with the regular setup. It recognized my Connect and my Prime and they both work (without a working EPG). So, it appears there is something going on with EPG123?

EPG123 has nothing to do with it at that point. This has to do with having a completely blank database and not downloading the headends for your zipcode.

See if running through setup again, using zip code 00000, and accepting the program TOS does anything.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#13 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:21 am

I ran setup with 00000 zip code and accepted TOS. It goes through cablecard setup and then hangs, same as using EPG123.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#14 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:33 am

If it is the zipcode, why does the setup work for the Connect? It asks for the zipcode in the setup and that works. Is there a workaround?
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#15 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 2:09 pm

dochockey wrote:If it is the zipcode, why does the setup work for the Connect? It asks for the zipcode in the setup and that works. Is there a workaround?

Sorry, it isn't the zipcode and I wasn't clear in my suggestion. What I intended to suggest was since you had everything working with the MS/Rovi data, to run through TV Setup again using zipcode 00000 and not to perform Step 1 of the EPG123 install. There will still be some Rovi junk in the database, but your guide will be fine and MS/Rovi will not download any guide related info since the zipcode isn't real.

If this doesn't work, then by all means remove WMC, reboot, add WMC, reinstall the HD Homerun software (just in case), and try EPG123 install again.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#16 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 5:29 pm

Hi Gary,

Let me first say that you have done a great job setting this up. It seems like I have a unique problem.

Your suggestion below is just what I did last night. I did not do step one of epg123, just went into WMC and ran the setup again with a 00000 zipcode and it hung at the same place as with epg123, that is, after the cablecard activation screens. I will try uninstalling HDHR and WMC and try that.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#17 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:27 pm

Uninstalled HDHomerun and WMC, then reinstalled both after rebooting. It still hangs after completing cablecard activation. WMC can't be closed and either Task Manager has to be brought up to close it or do a restart of the computer. Weird, because NPVR, Kodi, HDHomerun View etc all work using Prime.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#18 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:40 pm

Anybody else running NPVR and/or Kodi with WMC and HD HomeRun Primes? Is it feasible that either NPVR or Kodi are blocking some function of the primes drivers?

On the system you got working, it is working with the same primes, right?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2243
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#19 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 8:59 pm

Just installed everything fine on my third home computer. Very strange.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Post#20 » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:00 pm

The third computer and the first computer both have NPVR, Kodi and HDHomerun View all using Prime.
dochockey
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 9 July 2017

Next

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron