Reasons the guide will not update using v1.1.8

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Reasons the guide will not update using v1.1.8

Post#1 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:07 am

I feel like at this point I should be a veteran user going back 10 months now....

This is a brand new build that's been up one week now. 1.1.8. I scheduled the daily update to occur at a random time early in the morning. I don't think anything is recording and the first time I scheduled it for 4:13am and when that didn't work I changed it to 5:11am. Neither are updating.

It's been awhile since I've had any issues so remind me of some other reasons that could be causing this?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#2 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:52 am

What's in the trace.log file?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#3 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:03 am

garyan2 wrote:What's in the trace.log file?

Well.... Nothing other than my initial setup download and when I changed the time for it to update and "saved/execute".

So in other words it's not even attempting the update.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#4 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:20 am

Here is my trace log zipped.http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/5951dd10c84a7/trace.zip


Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#5 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:27 am

Tell me about your task. What operating system? Is the task enabled? If you run the task from Task Scheduler, does it run and update? Did you set it to wake?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#6 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:56 am

garyan2 wrote:Tell me about your task. What operating system? Is the task enabled? If you run the task from Task Scheduler, does it run and update? Did you set it to wake?

Does this mean something?

Image

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#7 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:00 am

garyan2 wrote:Tell me about your task. What operating system? Is the task enabled? If you run the task from Task Scheduler, does it run and update? Did you set it to wake?

Sorry it's so blurry. It says "Ready. The scheduled task has not yet run. Exit 0x00000001"

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#8 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:17 am

It does. Everything shown there says you should be updating. How 'bout a look at the Task Scheduler?

2017-06-26.png
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#9 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:06 pm

garyan2 wrote:It does. Everything shown there says you should be updating. How 'bout a look at the Task Scheduler?

2017-06-26.png

It looks like yours except mine is a local service instead of a Network Service. The "Do Not Store Password" box is checked since it's running locally.

I checked the Trace log and it didn't attempt to run this morning either.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#10 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:45 pm

Try and manually run the task from Task Scheduler. Ifit runs, then you will need to store a passwors.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#11 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:44 pm

garyan2 wrote:Try and manually run the task from Task Scheduler. Ifit runs, then you will need to store a passwors.

Ok. It ran manually just fine! Trace log says success all around and WMC is reporting 20 days of data!

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#12 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:27 am

kd6icz wrote:
garyan2 wrote:Try and manually run the task from Task Scheduler. Ifit runs, then you will need to store a passwors.

Ok. It ran manually just fine! Trace log says success all around and WMC is reporting 20 days of data!

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

2 things.

1) everything is good except the account you are using for the task. Set it to use an account that can access the network.

2) I really need to look at my messages before sending from my phone... sorry about the spelling issues.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#13 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:03 am

garyan2 wrote:Set it to use an account that can access the network.


I'm not sure I follow you on this.

Don't fret the spelling errors.... Happens to me all the time!

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#14 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:31 am

I mean store the password for the user account shown that created the task (uncheck the "Do not store password."), or change the user to NETWORK_SERVICE. This will allow the task to run when not logged in.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#15 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:02 am

garyan2 wrote:I mean store the password for the user account shown that created the task (uncheck the "Do not store password."), or change the user to NETWORK_SERVICE. This will allow the task to run when not logged in.

OK. I think I've made the changes correctly. I also changed that box at the bottom from Windows 7 to Windows 8.1. Not sure what that does but I'm using 8.1 so I figured it should say that.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#16 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:36 pm

Still a no go. Nothing added to the Trace log since I manually ran the task in task manager yesterday.

I didn't mention this earlier but I used the "Installer" from your available downloads. Maybe nobody else has used that?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#17 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:10 pm

kd6icz wrote:Still a no go. Nothing added to the Trace log since I manually ran the task in task manager yesterday.

I didn't mention this earlier but I used the "Installer" from your available downloads. Maybe nobody else has used that?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

No, the installer won't be a cause. There has to be a reason your task is not firing off when scheduled, or even at all.

The conditions in the task to run is:
Network must be available
Computer must be on AC power

If the schedule is missed, it is supposed to run as soon as possible (after boot, network available, ...) But none of that is happening so if you meet the above conditions, something else is preventing Task Scheduler from firing off the task. You can try to "Enable All Tasks History" to try and capture a reason.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2158
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#18 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:16 pm

garyan2 wrote:
kd6icz wrote:Still a no go. Nothing added to the Trace log since I manually ran the task in task manager yesterday.

I didn't mention this earlier but I used the "Installer" from your available downloads. Maybe nobody else has used that?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

No, the installer won't be a cause. There has to be a reason your task is not firing off when scheduled, or even at all.

The conditions in the task to run is:
Network must be available
Computer must be on AC power

If the schedule is missed, it is supposed to run as soon as possible (after boot, network available, ...) But none of that is happening so if you meet the above conditions, something else is preventing Task Scheduler from firing off the task. You can try to "Enable All Tasks History" to try and capture a reason.

Ok... I have one more thing I can try. I'm using Windows to manage my UPS rather than third party software. This is something I've never done before on previous builds. Let me just unplug the USB cable to the UPS and see if that makes it run. It's possible this industrial UPS (MinuteMan) I'm using is not reporting correctly to Windows.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#19 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 8:56 pm

garyan2 wrote:
The conditions in the task to run is:
Network must be available
Computer must be on AC power

If the schedule is missed, it is supposed to run as soon as possible (after boot, network available, ...) But none of that is happening so if you meet the above conditions, something else is preventing Task Scheduler from firing off the task. You can try to "Enable All Tasks History" to try and capture a reason.


I unplugged the USB cable from my UPS and guess what immediately started...

See Ryan? All I needed to know is what was needed for the task to run!

Now I need to figure out why Windows thinks my UPS is reporting no AC power...


Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#20 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:42 pm

Until you find out why, you can just set the task to run regardless of AC or battery power.
Space
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: 2 June 2013

Next

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron