Guide Tool and EPG123

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Re: Guide Tool and EPG123

Post#21 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:22 pm

garyan2 wrote:Sorry, I dropped the ball on this. I just shot off another email to fredx21.


Hi Gary!

Any response yet?
User avatar
StinkyImp
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11 May 2017
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#22 » Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:38 pm

StinkyImp wrote:
garyan2 wrote:Sorry, I dropped the ball on this. I just shot off another email to fredx21.


Hi Gary!

Any response yet?
Nope.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#23 » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:52 pm

So I had a drive die and have to rebuild... So I found my backup of guide tool, but after reading on the new EPG123 update. It says there is no need for GT anymore.
But I am at a loss on how to re-arrange channel order within EPG123 like I could with GT. Doing it in MCE is a long and tedious proccess.

What am I missing?

Thanks a lot.
User avatar
nairnmonster
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 July 2016

Post#24 » Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:34 am

nairnmonster wrote:So I had a drive die and have to rebuild... So I found my backup of guide tool, but after reading on the new EPG123 update. It says there is no need for GT anymore.
But I am at a loss on how to re-arrange channel order within EPG123 like I could with GT. Doing it in MCE is a long and tedious proccess.

What am I missing?

Thanks a lot.

To quickly change the channel numbers of your stations, Guide Tool will still be necessary (for now). EPG123 can only link channels to lineup stations, change channel call signs, and enable/disable guide channels.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#25 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:18 pm

That's alright, also something weird happening. I followed the install guide. But for some reason it keeps assigning the wrong channel ID's. Like it has Channel 4 HD but was actually E4. It wasn't the only channel, but not sure how to resolve this?
User avatar
nairnmonster
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 July 2016

Post#26 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:28 pm

What lineup are you using? Be aware, lineups may have multiple stations assigned to the same channel number which may result in what you are seeing.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#27 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:38 pm

I was using lineup 1 and 2 as I have a dual T and dual S card, so I thought lineup 1 was for T and 2 was for S. Is this wrong?
User avatar
nairnmonster
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 July 2016

Post#28 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:48 pm

Sorry, I didn't mean the tabs... you have no control over that. I meant what channel lineups are you using. You can see what they are in the trace.log file in your epg123 folder.

[9/10/2017 3:02:01 PM] ===============================================================================
[9/10/2017 3:02:01 PM] Activating the epg123 configuration GUI.
[9/10/2017 3:02:01 PM] ===============================================================================
[9/10/2017 3:02:02 PM] [ INFO] epg123 is up to date. version: 1.1.15
[9/10/2017 3:02:02 PM] [ INFO] Successfully queried the Task Scheduler for status. No task is scheduled to run.
[9/10/2017 3:02:03 PM] [ INFO] Token request successful. serverID: 20141201.web.1
[9/10/2017 3:02:03 PM] [ INFO] Status request successful. account expires: 2017-10-01T13:29:42Z , lineups: 3/255 , lastDataUpdate: 2017-09-10T15:12:37Z
[9/10/2017 3:02:03 PM] [ INFO] system status: Online , message: No known issues.
[9/10/2017 3:02:04 PM] [ INFO] Successfully requested listing of client lineups from Schedules Direct.
[9/10/2017 3:02:09 PM] [ INFO] Successfully retrieved the station mapping for lineup USA-CA66511-X.
[9/10/2017 3:02:09 PM] [ INFO] Successfully retrieved the station mapping for lineup USA-DITV-DEFAULT.
[9/10/2017 3:02:10 PM] [ INFO] Successfully retrieved the station mapping for lineup USA-OTA-85747.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#29 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:52 pm

Sorry, I've got this.

Successfully retrieved the station mapping for lineup GBR-0001219-DEFAULT.
Successfully retrieved the station mapping for lineup GBR-0003014-DEFAULT.
User avatar
nairnmonster
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 18 July 2016

Post#30 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 11:13 pm

Okay, I think you have a couple things going on.

A couple possibilities...

Since you have 2 different sources that have the same channel numbers, you can not use the 'Automatically match...'/'Automatch' option. The other possibility is the lineup from SD is incorrect for E4 and/or Channel 4.

Your automatch needs to be disabled which means you will need to manually match/correct the proper station listings to the guide channels.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#31 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:22 pm

I love GuideTool and have donated and activated it. However, that activation no longer seems to work in the newest version. Since the project seems to be abandoned, I modified the EXE so that its activated. This is for version 1.4.

https://mega.nz/#!WFo31JBb!PEd8d1bTxBeP ... OYWYEZnuqo
DanITman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 7 February 2017

Post#32 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:41 pm

DanITman wrote:Since the project seems to be abandoned, I modified the EXE so that its activated. This is for version 1.4.

It works great! Can you do the same for the 1.2.5 version?

Thanks Dan!
User avatar
StinkyImp
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11 May 2017
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#33 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:19 pm

StinkyImp wrote:
DanITman wrote:Since the project seems to be abandoned, I modified the EXE so that its activated. This is for version 1.4.

It works great! Can you do the same for the 1.2.5 version?

Thanks Dan!

With no feedback from Fredx21, my plan is to create a key generator for all versions to "activate" Guide Tool... this is something in my toolbox I can do. What I have no idea how to do is what DanITman just did and determine which bits to change in the executable to get there.

I can confirm the executable works and the features are available. Good Job!
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#34 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 3:37 pm

Yes, I cracked both. Give me some time to get it uploaded.
DanITman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 7 February 2017

Post#35 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:10 pm

Here you go 1.2.5

https://mega.nz/#!3cAUiboI!-5klMrC61TJh ... FwtDAfiNpA

Let me know if you have any issues.
DanITman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 7 February 2017

Post#36 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:12 pm

garyan2 wrote:
StinkyImp wrote:
DanITman wrote:Since the project seems to be abandoned, I modified the EXE so that its activated. This is for version 1.4.

It works great! Can you do the same for the 1.2.5 version?

Thanks Dan!

With no feedback from Fredx21, my plan is to create a key generator for all versions to "activate" Guide Tool... this is something in my toolbox I can do. What I have no idea how to do is what DanITman just did and determine which bits to change in the executable to get there.

I can confirm the executable works and the features are available. Good Job!


Gary,

A keygen sounds awesome but also sounds like a lot of work :) I decompiled the exe so if you want to complete your keygen, let me know.

Do you have to tools to repackage the install files and include the hacked exe?
DanITman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 7 February 2017

Post#37 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:29 pm

DanITman wrote:A keygen sounds awesome but also sounds like a lot of work :) I decompiled the exe so if you want to complete your keygen, let me know.

Do you have to tools to repackage the install files and include the hacked exe?

What did you use to decompile? I see you did exactly what I asked fredx21 to do, or I would do if fredx21 shared the source code, and just set the flag=true in the CheckIsActivated() function. I'm using .NET Reflector to decompile the code, but didn't work too hard to get it to a point where I could recompile.

I don't have anything to modify installation packages.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#38 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:52 pm

garyan2 wrote:I don't have anything to modify installation packages.


I've extracted the contents of the "GuideToolSetup.1.4.exe" file and replaced the "GuideTool.exe" with Dan's. I can create a new installer but I'll have to run fredx21's installer to see exactly what he's creating/writing to (run a diff program during install) before I can create a new one.

Right now it's simple enough to run the original installer and then replace the "GuideTool.exe" with Dan's. It may be simpler to create a wrapper for Dan's file and then have it overwrite fredx21's.

NOTE: fredx21's installer doesn't provide an option to select a directory, so it defaults to C:\Program Files (x86)\GuideTool\...
User avatar
StinkyImp
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 11 May 2017
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#39 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:13 pm

I don’t believe the installer does much beside creating a director and verifying .net version.
DanITman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: 7 February 2017

Post#40 » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:20 pm

DanITman wrote:I don’t believe the installer does much beside creating a director and verifying .net version.

As well as selecting which version of GuideToolAddin to use based on OS version, and registering the dll?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2290
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

PreviousNext

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron