EPG123 install

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Re: EPG123 install

Post#21 » Mon Jun 05, 2017 8:57 pm

Just copied eHome/backup to a different drive. That is easy enough.

So when I declined the program guide, the tuner scan/channel scan process that runs does not run if I download the ROVI/MS data? All that that part of the setup does is find the tuners? So since I decline the download, it runs the channel scan kind of blindly? Why doesn't that work with EPG123 data? Load the EPG123 data, zap WMC telling it their EPG data was downloaded, launch WMC, run the tuner scan, but skip the channel scan because there is already data in a file. What is there about WMC that it has to run scans at all? Set up WMC with the ROVI/MS process and then overlay the ROVI EPG data with new EPG123 data, accurate maintained data? Like a restore, just with different data.
middlfam
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 3 June 2017

Post#22 » Mon Jun 05, 2017 9:18 pm

The information in the file epg123 creates does not contain tuner specific information. It would be a lot of work to get epg123 to be aware of everyone's tuners, create channels with the proper frequency, modulation, spacing, let's not even talk about satellite tuners ... :roll:

Basically there's more to a tuner channel than just a number, and all WMC sees with epg123 is the guide listings ... nothing more.

middlfam wrote:Set up WMC with the ROVI/MS process and then overlay the ROVI EPG data with new EPG123 data, accurate maintained data? Like a restore, just with different data.

This is possible but I don't recommend it. At that point MS/Rovi has a foothold in the system and can/will change your tuner lineups and screw up your searches and movie listings. If it wasn't for those issues, it would be the recommend path.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#23 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 4:43 pm

It is proving harder than I thought it would to find a gap when WMC is not doing something so that the auto execution of the EPG update will complete.

What I was trying to say before is that since there is a back up restore function built into WMC, why can't you create a file in their expected back up format and let WMC reload the EPG from data you created from Zap2It? Let WMC run all of its processes so all the channels are found, and then slam dunk the EPG file from a better source for data.
middlfam
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 3 June 2017

Post#24 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:07 pm

middlfam wrote:It is proving harder than I thought it would to find a gap when WMC is not doing something so that the auto execution of the EPG update will complete.

If you mean you are always recording, there is an option for epg123Client to force an update regardless of tuner recording status. You will have to edit the task in Task Scheduler to do so.

Open 'Task Scheduler'
Select 'Task Scheduler LIbrary' folder
Double-click the task 'epg123_update'
Select the 'Actions' tab
Double-click the action for epg123Client.exe
In the 'Add arguments (optional):' field, add " -f" to the end (make sure a space separates the '-f' from the other arguments)

The default option to abort during recording was due to some reports that an update would interrupt/abort recordings when the file was imported into the database. You can try the -F option and just monitor to see if it impacts you. I was able to duplicate the issue 1 time, but all the many other attempts I tried were all successful.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#25 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:15 pm

I have a PC at my office with 1 TV tuner. When I have a gap in clients I sometimes watch a show. I noticed late yesterday the schedule data was not right. So I installed EPG123. Went smooth. 1 tuner and experience with adding digital TV stations manually, made it much faster and without frustrations. I think I am ready now to use EPG123 for others, that will need their own accounts, but at least I can walk through this now and not look like an idiot while trying to fix the ROVI issues they might have.

I still wish it was a little easier, like let WMC do its thing and then after set up, replace the ROVI created guide with one EPG123 creates using the WMC restore function so all the channels are there without manual intervention.

The most important thing is this, yours works, works well and I do know how to get from ROVI to Zap2It using EPG123.
middlfam
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 3 June 2017

Post#26 » Sat Jun 24, 2017 1:36 pm

I get channel logos now. IU do like it, thought it would not really matter, but I do like it. What were you able to do that added in the logos?

I picked up an extra TV tuner yesterday from an interesting person. I like having a couple of extras just in case one of mine, or one in the HTPCs I take care of, fails. I picked the tuner card up at his business, he makes custom toy haulers and trailers. But he also codes. One of his commercial products is a channel guide he creates for hotels/motels that displays on an unused channel. So all guests have to do is turn that that channel to get the programming guide. He had the extra TV tuners because he was experimenting with using the ATI cards that I like to see if he should start using the ATI cards and not the Happauge TV cards he uses for another media product he developed and sells to city governments used for video conferencing. Welder, trailer builder, electronics and software engineer, interesting combination. I told him about EPG123 and suggested he might want to reach out to you.
middlfam
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 3 June 2017

Previous

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bcswa and 1 guest

cron