Can't Edit Username / Password

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

Can't Edit Username / Password

Post#1 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:05 pm

Hi!

I'm using EPG123 and I had to change my SD account credentials. So I went into the EPG GUI but the boxes are greyed out. How do I change them?
marvin-miller
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 18 September 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#2 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:24 pm

Hmmm. If epg123 can't log you in, then the boxes should be enabled to make changes.

If that is not the case, you can edit the epg123.cfg file. The file is XML so you can open it with notepad and within the first few lines there should be your account user name and password hash. Delete the account information, save, and open epg123 again.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#3 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:41 pm

Well this is odd......

All I did was remove my username/pw from the file you mentioned. I then fired up EPG123 and everything was missing! All settings were gone.

OK, so I entered my username/password, hit login, re-selected all the important things, hit save and apply....

Went into Media Center, it said I had not enabled any channels. So I re-enabled all my previous channels....

I go into the scheduled tasks and tell it to do an update. Within about 5 seconds it says it's done.....

Go back into Media Center and look at the guide - No Guide Data. Go back into EPG GUI, tell it to save and apply and it says it can't - there's a schedueld task running. I look at task manager and there's nothing running....

Am Re-booting system now....
marvin-miller
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 18 September 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#4 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:47 pm

Re-booted and Media Center shows no channels are active. GO back into EPG GUI and see Red Light. Turn red light to Green and now it seems to be doing something :oops:
marvin-miller
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 18 September 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#5 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:55 pm

I'll try to recreate your initial problem and report back on that. If I can recreate, I'll keep going and see what I see.

I haven't touched that code since probably March last year, so there may be something there.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#6 » Mon May 15, 2017 11:56 pm

What version are you running?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#7 » Tue May 16, 2017 12:52 am

Okay, recreated the initial problem and will be fixed in next release. I'm not sure what happened after that to cause you to lose your settings.

I'll keep looking, but may be moot since I fixed the original problem. 8-)
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#8 » Tue May 16, 2017 1:14 am

1.1.4 (a little late but....)

I'm just glad I didn't loose my upcoming recordings or my recordings history. It was looking pretty scarey for a moment there :shock:

If the logic behind the greyed out credentails button is that they cannot be changed if they are correct, that's a cool thing to do but.....it really caused me some issues. Same thing with the red light.

Perhaps not greying out the credentials button, while not as cool programatically, might be a better strategy?

Either way, as always, thanks very much for your prompt reply and help! :clap:
marvin-miller
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 18 September 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#9 » Tue May 16, 2017 1:27 am

The logic is there to lock the username and password while logged in to Schedules Direct. When I added the autologin feature, I defaulted the fields to disabled and didn't put anything in place to reenable if login failed.

Not going to be a problem on next release.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#10 » Tue May 16, 2017 1:31 am

I get it now (why you did it) - and it makes sense. That's the thing with software, it's really hard to foresee every kind of eventuality.

What I was doing was testing out the new SageTV release and I needed my username & password. Of course, I could not recall the password so I just reset it, meaning I had to change the one in EPG 123 and thus.... the issue :lol:
marvin-miller
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 18 September 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details


Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron