v1.1.3 Release

An evolving, supported alternative to Rovi
Important Information
★ Download the latest EPG123 here: http://epg123.garyan2.net <> Setup guide here: http://epg123.garyan2.net/downloads/epg123_Guide.pdf

v1.1.3 Release

Post#1 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:19 am

New version has been released to address what I broke in v1.1.2 (and v1.1.1).

http://epg123.garyan2.net/

This should be it for a while unless someone finds a bug.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#2 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:31 am

Since updating these past few times I haven't had a successful upload of the guide data into my WMC. It has been 3 days, yesterday it said (in the command prompt) that the server was under maintenance but the day before that and just now (after updating to 1.1.3) it won't work. When it attempts to automatically update the guide data it says it can't start or that it failed. Just an hour ago when I attempted to manually upload it went through the entire process (in the command prompt) and in WMC it even said that guide data was being sorted in TV>Search>Title but after it was done it still said just 10 days of guide data (should be 13-14 as I have it set to download 14 days of data).

What is up? Before the big update (1.1 I believe) I had just clean started over and it worked, I set it all up again and downloaded the guide data manually but since then I am not sure, I *think* it has automatically downloaded once successfully but I could be wrong and it might have never worked automatically since 1.1 was installed.

Any help you can give?

Update: Just deleted the scheduled setting to reset it and check the boxes again. I hit save & execute and it went through the command prompt but is doing the "Import Guide Data into WMC" which it hadn't done the past few times (it would just clean up cache, finish up and then close). So I THINK I am going to get 13-14 days worth of guide data uploaded into WMC. We'll see if it works like it should when the scheduled time comes tomorrow.
NathanP2007
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 12 June 2016

Post#3 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:11 pm

Is there any special update instructions for upgrading from v1.1.0 to v1.1.3 or can I just replace the binary files from the old version to the new version?

Thanks!
cjames9001
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 14 August 2016

Post#4 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:04 pm

cjames9001 wrote:Is there any special update instructions for upgrading from v1.1.0 to v1.1.3 or can I just replace the binary files from the old version to the new version?

Thanks!

Nothing special needed updating from v1.1.x. Just need to replace the old with the new.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#5 » Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:13 pm

NathanP2007 wrote:Update: Just deleted the scheduled setting to reset it and check the boxes again. I hit save & execute and it went through the command prompt but is doing the "Import Guide Data into WMC" which it hadn't done the past few times (it would just clean up cache, finish up and then close). So I THINK I am going to get 13-14 days worth of guide data uploaded into WMC. We'll see if it works like it should when the scheduled time comes tomorrow.

Sounds like it was the update task and possibly permissions.

When updating to v1.1.0, did you delete the old task and create a new one? It wasn't very clear, but that needed to be done as well.
If you are running Win10, then the task from v1.1.0 would only update the mxf file, but would not import into the database. That was "fixed" in v1.1.1, but would still need to delete existing task and create a new task.

Let us know if it successfully updates on next scheduled run.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#6 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 5:59 am

Yeah, I needed to delete the task and then create a new one. That not only worked with the manual upload but it worked with the auto-upload. Thanks!
NathanP2007
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 12 June 2016

Post#7 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:15 pm

OK. So remind me what I'm doing wrong again. When I save and execute everything is 0/0. I probably have some checked/unchecked. This is a brand new fresh install of Windows.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#8 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:21 pm

Image

Here's a screenshot. Is it the auto channel match that might be causing this?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#9 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:30 pm

kd6icz wrote:Here's a screenshot. Is it the auto channel match that might be causing this?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

Your lineup is excluded. There is a red balloon/light/button just under the tab text 'Lineup 1' ... click that and select the 'Include' menu item.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#10 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:36 pm

That made it download and process the data but Guide and Search are still missing in WMC.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#11 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:47 pm

kd6icz wrote:That made it download and process the data but Guide and Search are still missing in WMC.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

There are only 2 conditions that I am aware of that would cause Guide and Search not to show up.

1) The registry settings are not set. The epg123Client.exe performs this update. WMC will have to closed and reopened after the GUI does its job.
2) There are no scanned channels. Did everything in step 2 go normally? In Guide edit, are the channels there?
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#12 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 10:58 pm

OK. I guess I didn't let WMC sit long enough. It finally populated my channel list and now everything looks good!

Now to set up a couple of clients.... Looks straight forward. Just share my epg123 folder on the server and map the folder on the clients. Sound right?

The small section doesn't elaborate much on this but opening the client app shows a drive path so I'm assuming.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#13 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:04 pm

kd6icz wrote:OK. I guess I didn't let WMC sit long enough. It finally populated my channel list and now everything looks good!

Now to set up a couple of clients.... Looks straight forward. Just share my epg123 folder on the server and map the folder on the clients. Sound right?

The small section doesn't elaborate much on this but opening the client app shows a drive path so I'm assuming.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

No need to map the network folders, you can use UNC paths... but you got the gist of it.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#14 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:10 pm

Even if the server is password protected? It's a headless server.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#15 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:12 pm

kd6icz wrote:Even if the server is password protected? It's a headless server.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

You'll need to modify the scheduled task to include credentials of an account with access to the shared folder... unless you have the share open to all.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#16 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:15 pm

Oh... OK. I didn't know that would work. I'll give it a try.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#17 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:39 am

garyan2 wrote:You'll need to modify the scheduled task to include credentials of an account with access to the shared folder...


...and one that can run ehPrivJob on the local computer. :)
glorp
 
Posts: 319
Joined: 23 September 2012

Post#18 » Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:27 pm

I was under the impression My Channel Logos wasn't needed anymore. Is that the case or do I need to install it as well?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
kd6icz
 
Posts: 489
Joined: 22 July 2013

Post#19 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 12:37 am

kd6icz wrote:I was under the impression My Channel Logos wasn't needed anymore. Is that the case or do I need to install it as well?

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

True, but it takes some work. The channel logos need to be in the .\logos folder (names appropriately for each station) in order to be embedded in the mxf file. Once that is setup, then any WMC that imports the mxf file will have the channel logos as well.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2194
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#20 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 12:41 am

Note that if you want the other benefits of MCL like adding rows/more time to your guide you still need it.
I use both those features.
stuartm
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 5 November 2012
Location: Longmont, CO
HTPC Specs: Show details

Next

Return to EPG123



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron