No sound on The Simpsons HD recordings

Discussion of getting WMC to work on Windows 10 (unsupported)
jazz_dude

HTPC Specs: Show details

No sound on The Simpsons HD recordings

Post by jazz_dude » Wed Mar 01, 2017 6:40 pm

This is the weirdest problem I've ever seen. I have WMC on x64 Windows 10 Pro (in UK), and when I record the Simpsons there's no sound. There's sound in the adverts and also when I play the file in WMP, but not with WMC playback during the episode. This only happens on HD recordings - live viewing is fine and all other channels are OK. I've checked that subs, AD etc is off. OTA card is TBS 6205 T/T2 quad tuner.

I can live with this little glitch, but would love to know the reason for the missing sound.

Crash2009

Post by Crash2009 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:13 pm

I have never had an audio problem, so therefore I have no experience troubleshooting. If I ever developed an audio problem, I think I would start here..... http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/vie ... 092#p85092 and get a general understanding. Your solution is likely suggested in Richard's post.

It would be a good idea to tell us how you have the cables connected to the components..... Post #37 demonstrates just that.

What, if any, codecs are you using? (Lav, Shark, etc?)

Another thing you might want to find out is..... What is so special about the Simpson.wtv file. Use MediaInfo for the answer... https://mediaarea.net/download/binary/m ... indows.exe

Open MediaInfo, then use MediaInfo to open one of the Simpson files.

CyberSimian

Post by CyberSimian » Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:44 pm

jazz_dude wrote:I have WMC on x64 Windows 10 Pro (in UK), and when I record the Simpsons there's no sound. There's sound in the adverts and also when I play the file in WMP, but not with WMC playback during the episode. This only happens on HD recordings - live viewing is fine and all other channels are OK.