Netlix App - Australia

Netlix App - Australia

Post#1 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:55 am

Hi all

Now that Neflix has been officially released in Australia, does anyone know of a plugin that will allow us to use netflix via media centre ?
ipguy
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 March 2015

Post#2 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:41 pm

Only thing I can think of is this (though the dev seems MIA):
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=207262
It makes the Chrome UI remote friendly. You can use relaunch to integrate it into Media Center. Most would say you are better off using a cheap streaming device though.
3rob3
 
Posts: 544
Joined: 28 August 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#3 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 11:30 pm

Hi All,
Netflix has recently launched their australian service and i have been trying to get the netflix app to show up on my windows7 media centre with no luck.
Has anyone in Australia been able to get the netflix app to appear?
And if so, what steps did you take to get this to work?
goldsworthy1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 March 2015

Post#4 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:24 am

mdavej
 
Posts: 1459
Joined: 20 August 2012

Post#5 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:36 am

I have it working, but can't actually get it to stream anything. ie. i have the icon in media center, can log in, can browse, but as soon as i click play, I get errors that Netflix tries to point to problems with Silverlight. I've tried a few of the fixes to no avail. Let me know if you get it working.
(I followed this guide here to get it to appear: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4608)
wallaceff
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 8 November 2012

Post#6 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 9:43 am

I spoke to both Netflix and Microsoft about this, there will be a fix by Microsoft shortly apparently.
al26chin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 1 April 2015

Post#7 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:07 am

Gasp!
A fix..... by Microsoft!
Woohoo :)
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2476
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#8 » Wed Apr 01, 2015 4:37 pm

Their 'fix' will be to remove Netflix from WMC; like they did internet TV and the Sports strip, lol.

It will fix it for them. Can't complain about the Netflix app to them if it isn't there ;)
Ed 
 
Posts: 769
Joined: 24 May 2014
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#9 » Thu Apr 02, 2015 2:14 am

holidayboy wrote:Gasp!
A fix..... by Microsoft!
Woohoo :)


Excellent news, only problem is that it's 1st April.....
User avatar
gbwelly
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 18 June 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#10 » Thu Apr 02, 2015 2:17 am

wallaceff wrote:I have it working, but can't actually get it to stream anything. ie. i have the icon in media center, can log in, can browse, but as soon as i click play, I get errors that Netflix tries to point to problems with Silverlight. I've tried a few of the fixes to no avail. Let me know if you get it working.
(I followed this guide here to get it to appear: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4608)


Have you been able to play video on the system in the browser using Internet Explorer?
Deleting C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\mspr.hds was a critical step for me getting it working BTW.
User avatar
gbwelly
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 18 June 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#11 » Fri Apr 03, 2015 6:34 am

Hi -

I followed this guide and have it working no problems.

http://acs-digital-media.com/netflix-fix.html

Skip the DNS settings part for australia or use it (as I did) for US version

And here for the search fix

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... faf560ab30

:)
limmoman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 3 April 2015

Post#12 » Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:11 pm

Don't forget basic silverlight problems fixed by resetting internet explorer
Dkeyguy1
 
Posts: 150
Joined: 23 December 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#13 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:38 pm

So, is there a solution to the problem for Australian Netflix users ?
ipguy
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 24 March 2015


Return to International Issues



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron