Sports Bar - New Windows Media Center add-in

leewcraft

HTPC Specs: Show details

Sports Bar - New Windows Media Center add-in

Post by leewcraft » Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:53 am

It's been a while since we've seen many new add-ins for Windows Media Center, but here's a new one called Sports Bar (since we have lots of sporting events coming up around New Year's). Just so you know, this is far from a polished piece of software...think of it more as a proof of concent app. Basically, this is a simple multi-view add-in for watching multiple games on the same screen like this:
WP_20141115_21_18_27_Pro.jpg
I've been kicking this idea around for several years, but I finally got past a major roadblock a few months ago. Here are the installation instructions:

1. Download the installer from http://www.myownchannels.com/MOCWeb/Sub ... lient.aspx (free registration required)
2. Disable exclusive audio control for your audio output device:
-Right click on the speaker icon in system tray and go to playback devices
-Right click on your audio output device and select properties
-Go to the advanced tab and uncheck "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device"
-Click Ok

After you launch the add-in (it's hidden in the Extras section), you can type in channel numbers for each of the 4 screens. Once you're ready, press Play and it will launch all 4 of the games you selected. While viewing the games, you can use the arrow keys to select which game audio you want to hear.

Requirements:
-Minimum of Core 2 Quad CPU (it functions on a Core 2 Duo, but has some freezing when playing 4 HD streams)
-Hard Disk space...the games are recorded as they are played, so it takes about 30-40GB per hour of game watching for 4 HD streams

There are definitely a few limitations with this add-in as it exists today, so I'll list them out here so that nobody is surprised by it: