Activation error

Chromecast in MediaCenter

Activation error

Post#1 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 5:48 pm

Hi,

I used MCC for the whole trial period. It worked well so i donated 10$ to activate the software.

But everytime I try to activate it there is the following error message:

unable to activate: Failed to get activation data: Unable to get activation key: Unknown license ID: .....


Does anybody know how to fix this? (und yes I typed in my correct paypal adress :))

thx in advance
backdraft
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 November 2014

Post#2 » Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:44 am

nobody?
backdraft
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 November 2014

Post#3 » Sun Feb 08, 2015 2:00 pm

What's MCC?
milli260876
 
Posts: 726
Joined: 8 June 2011
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
Lee

Post#4 » Sun Feb 08, 2015 9:14 pm

The subforum we're in, Media Center Cast ;)

Essentially lets you "cast" video to WMC like a Chromecast. I haven't heard much on development recently, unfortunately. You should try emailing the developer directly.
RyC
 
Posts: 642
Joined: 21 August 2012

Post#5 » Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:30 pm

I have the same activation error. Is this product being actively supported?
mooseboots
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2 August 2011

Post#6 » Tue Oct 13, 2015 12:32 am

It doesn't appear to be. The dev hasn't been here for over a year.

Has the donation been transferred over? If so that's not acceptable and I think I will warn members.
User avatar
STC
 
Posts: 6799
Joined: 6 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

Post#7 » Sat Apr 02, 2016 12:48 am

After running into the same licensing issue myself, I reverse engineered the binaries and removed the activation. I really wish they would have taken the paypal link off their page. If other people have paid, and can't activate, I can help them get around it. You have to prove that you've paid with a screen shot of the paypal transaction before I'll tell you how to bypass activation.

-securgeek
securgeek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2 April 2016

Post#8 » Sat Apr 02, 2016 10:53 am

Hi Securegeek

Your post couldn't of come at a better time for me as I have recently been moving over to windows 10 and swapping my xbox extender for an Intel NUC. I really liked the software and saw its potential on the trial so paid them on the 31st of March for a license.

I previously bought a license for there guide tool software ages ago which I still use and I only reinstalled that and activated it the other week using the details I'd saved and it activated fine. So I assumed despite them not updating there software or designing anything new if I saw a use for one of there other packages and wanted to buy a license there wouldn't be an issue. How wrong I was!

Never been in this position before where I have paid for software but cannot license it because the developers maintain a website and payment facility but not the upkeep of the licensing servers data.

I have personally messaged you a web address to an image which shows my paypal payment to them (if a little redacted of course) I would love it if you could tell me how to get it fully activated.

Best Regards

Gareth
MediaCenterCastError
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2 April 2016

Post#9 » Sat Apr 02, 2016 3:39 pm

pm'd you the necessary modifications.
securgeek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2 April 2016

Post#10 » Mon Apr 04, 2016 7:24 am

Hi Securgeek,

I followed your instructions to the letter and got it working. Thanks very much!

For those interested it entailed hex editing some of the code in the WinCast.exe

Best Regards

Gareth
MediaCenterCastError
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2 April 2016

Post#11 » Sat Apr 30, 2016 5:56 pm

FWIW I use air server for AirPlay and miracast and event ghost to automate window focus.
scyto
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 6 September 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#12 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 3:39 pm

I paid using your PayPal activation link, and my license is not activated. Same error than the rest of the people in this post.

I sent an email to geeks@1geek1tool.com, and I receive an mail delivery error for philibert.1geek1tool@hotmail.com.

Is there anyone still activating licenses or you just get the money...
txetxu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 January 2017

Post#13 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:17 pm

txetxu wrote:I paid using your PayPal activation link, and my license is not activated. Same error than the rest of the people in this post.

I sent an email to geeks@1geek1tool.com, and I receive an mail delivery error for philibert.1geek1tool@hotmail.com.

Is there anyone still activating licenses or you just get the money...


After several emails were not answered, I finally claimed the return to Paypal and they have canceled the purchase. There is nobody on this company. Please remove your purchase option in your website to avoid this kind of problem
txetxu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 28 January 2017

Post#14 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 12:30 am

So it's been awhile, and it looks like these guys are still selling these licenses, even though their license server is broken. As such, I will post my original bypass. I should note, that I was having issues with MCC a while back, and have given up on the software all together.


You should be familiar with using a hex editor (I was using freeware HxD to do this).

Here are the bytes you need to change in WinCast.exe (C:\Program Files(x86)\Media Center Cast\WinCast.exe).

You should be familiar with using a hex editor (I was using freeware HxD to do this).

Here are the bytes you need to change in WinCast.exe (C:\Program Files(x86)\Media Center Cast\WinCast.exe).

Original:
0000 1860: 00 00 04 02 02 7B 73 00 00 04 08 7C C3 00 00 04
0000 1870: 08 7C C4 00 00 04 02 7C 75 00 00 04 6F AF 00 00
0000 1880: 0A 7D 74 00 00 04 02 7B 74 00 00 04 2D 0E 02 7B

Fixed:
0000 1860: 00 00 04 02 16 7D 74 00 00 04 02 17 7D 75 00 00
0000 1870: 04 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
0000 1880: 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 7B 74 00 00 04 2D 0E 02 7B

That's it!

Good Luck,
-Securgeek
securgeek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2 April 2016

Post#15 » Tue Apr 18, 2017 1:46 pm

Thanks for posting. I was having issues with it also but I might try this. Wincast is nice because it doesn't require me to change the input on my TV but it sucks that I can't use things like netflix on it.
jachin99
 
Posts: 412
Joined: 24 February 2016


Return to Media Center Cast *No Longer Supported*



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron