Choosing video card for Comcast DRM/H.264 issue

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.

Re: Choosing video card for Comcast DRM/H.264 issue

Post#41 » Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:47 am

I'm still hanging on with comcast. The issues I have are minimal. I also benefit from their streaming service at my vacation home on the Cape - free! It's certainly not glitch-free, as Flash often crashes, but hey I get free TV down there.

In the end, I'm waiting for FIOS to come to my part of Boston at which time I will gladly punt Comcast for the last time! I've been watching it in Providence for years and the picture quality difference is obvious, despite Comcast's official position that 720/60 is just as good. Pathetic!

Right now my Comcast Internet is 6Mbps upstream - pathetic!. With FIOS I'll have at least 25 for the same money or less. That will let me run a VPN to the Cape house and stream free TV there. Excellent!
artm
 
Posts: 122
Joined: 4 August 2015
-Art -- Win7 Ultimate x64 (NO UPDATES!), HDHomerun Prime
Migrated from HP 4420S, i5, Intel HD3000 to Dell 980 SFF, i5, Nvidia GT710 (thanks Comcast !)

Post#42 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:21 am

I will say one thing has improved the situation, I subscribed to the HD service for an additional $10 a month. The picture quality is better. Not as much or no stuttering or pixelation during the movie. The only problem I have right now is right at the end of the movie almost immediately after the credits start, the credit start stuttering then WMC restarts itself.

It's got to be something in the Stream.

I'm going to call the technical department and ask them what happens when the credits come on that just may be,part of the h.264 problem. I suspect the drm flags pop up right about that time, to authorize the next movie.
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 4079
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Previous

Return to HTPC Components



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron