Choosing video card for Comcast DRM/H.264 issue

A place to talk about GPUs/Motherboards/CPUs/Cases/Remotes, etc.

Choosing video card for Comcast DRM/H.264 issue

Post#1 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:56 am

Since a lot of us are affected by Comcast's switch to H.264 and the associated issues with DRM channels, I though we should make note of what setups work.

So, how about telling us what card you use and how well it works with these concerns:

0. what OS, video card, driver version do you use?
1. can you watch DRM H.264?
2. can you switch from one DRM to another DRM? To a non-DRM?
3. can you skip forward and back on live TV, quickly without issue?
4. can you do the same with recorded DRM/H.264 material?
5. can you fast forward/backward smoothly on DRM recordings?

If you think there are issues to address let us know.

As for me:

0. Win7, Asus AMD HD5450, Catalyst 15.7.1, 2D driver 8.01.01.1500
1. yes
2. DRM-DRM, yes, mostly.When going from 800 region DRM channel to 200 region, video freezes with previous 800 region channel, audio continues with new channel. Need to switch to non-DRM channel and then back to 200 region DRM for it to work.

DRM-non DRM works fine.

3. mostly yes but freezes often. Need to close WMC window and reopen to recover. Slightly pausing between skipping button works fine.
4. same as #3
5. a bit choppy on fastest FF/RW but works
artm
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 4 August 2015
-Art -- Win7 Ultimate x64 (NO UPDATES!), HDHomerun Prime
Migrated from HP 4420S, i5, Intel HD3000 to Dell 980 SFF, i5, Nvidia GT710 (thanks Comcast !)

Post#2 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:57 pm

0. Win7, Nvidia Quadro FX580, driver 331.82
1. yes
2. yes
3. yes
4. yes
5. yes backward, a bit jerky forward at highest speed

I need low power cards, 19-25W, as well as low profile, so these below fit the bill. It appears Nvidia is much better at resolving the skipping issue, n fact solving it, than AMD. There is still the #2 issue, but I can live with that. The skipping issue is more important to me so I'm switching from AMD 5450 to Nvidia GT710.

0. Win7, Zotac ZT-71301-20L, Nvidia GT710, driver 359.21
1. yes
2. DRM-DRM, yes, mostly.When going from 800 region DRM channel to 200 region, video freezes with previous 800 region channel, audio continues with new channel. Need to switch to non-DRM channel and then back to 200 region DRM for it to work.
3. yes
4. yes
5. yes backward, a bit jerky forward at highest speed

0. Win7, MSI GT710-1GD3HL, Nvidia GT710, driver 359.21
1. yes
2. DRM-DRM, yes, mostly.When going from 800 region DRM channel to 200 region, video freezes with previous 800 region channel, audio continues with new channel. Need to switch to non-DRM channel and then back to 200 region DRM for it to work.
3. yes
4. yes
5. yes backward, a bit jerky and skips too many frames forward at highest speed
artm
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 4 August 2015
-Art -- Win7 Ultimate x64 (NO UPDATES!), HDHomerun Prime
Migrated from HP 4420S, i5, Intel HD3000 to Dell 980 SFF, i5, Nvidia GT710 (thanks Comcast !)

Post#3 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:32 pm

0. Win7, HIS 6570, latest available driver (which is old)
1. Sometimes "blocky"
2. not tested
3. mostly yes but freezes often. Need to close WMC window and reopen to recover. Slightly pausing between skipping button works fine.
4. same as #3
5. not sure

Also, on the hunt on an equivalent replacement for the AMD card - looking for ideas....
nikleb
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 26 October 2014

Post#4 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:59 am

0. Win7 Ultimate, HD6770, Old driver 04/19/2011
1. No complaints whatsoever
2 I haven't been able to find a H.264 channel in zip 48103
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3868
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#5 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:13 pm

0. Win7 Home, GT730, 382.05
1, Yes, but often very blocky (credits are usually very bad)
2. Yes, no problems
3. Yes, no problems
4. Yes, though blocky, but doesn't change based on skips (it's recorded)
5. Yes, blockiness stays about the same

I would gladly replace my video card to fix this. I switched from internal video (i7 3770K) to the GT730 to get the DRM channels working, but action movies are nearly unwatchable. Tried an AMD card but it wouldn't do the HDCP handshake (AV receiver and Viewsonic projector) so nothing would show.

411-info shows that Comcast is sending H264 at about 3Mb/s which seems fine in nearly everything but action movies.
mpcookson
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 4 July 2017

Post#6 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:39 pm

I've given up trying to perfect this. Using GT710, only real issue is when switching from DRM (800 range) to DRM/not-DRM (200 range). I get no video and need to switch down 2 or 3 channels to recover. To me, this is not a real issue.

Fast forwarding not smoothly in the fastest setting (recorded or live) remains for H.264 channels only; MPEG is fine. Not a real issue for me.

I have noi issue with action movies.

Stay away form AMD, Nvidia will get you there much better. I'd like to say that more processing power will resolve this but I can't upgrade. If you can, go ahead and try out a current, fast Nvidia card. If that doesn't resolve everything, then I suspect that Comcast is not sending a standard signal, perhaps intentionally.

FYI, I also use an older Motorola from 4 years ago - basic, non-DVR, HD - and I have no issues with playback, switching. Surely there isn't a super video card in that! So, I believe more and more that Comcast is intentionally screwing us.
artm
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 4 August 2015
-Art -- Win7 Ultimate x64 (NO UPDATES!), HDHomerun Prime
Migrated from HP 4420S, i5, Intel HD3000 to Dell 980 SFF, i5, Nvidia GT710 (thanks Comcast !)


Return to HTPC Components



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron