Echo Rack Shelf

Talk with fellow members about Ceton's Media Center Extender.
Important Information
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. Official support may still be handled via the Ceton Ticket system.

Re: Echo Rack Shelf

Post#41 » Mon May 08, 2017 5:40 pm

tad wrote:
mcewinter wrote:
STC wrote:How are you managing independent control of each unit?


Whole home IR would be one example.


correct, with the IR codeset on each echo changed to a unique value as described in another thread



STC wrote:
tad wrote:...IR codeset on each echo changed to a unique value as described in another thread


That's the part I didn't know existed.
I imagined you having fun with bits of card and tape stopping stray IR signals jumping to another Echo.



Yes.. Where is said thread? (I know, old post)

I remember discussion of this back in the day but don't remember where the information is as I didn't need it at the time, I didn't bookmark it..

HELP!
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1360
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#42 » Mon May 08, 2017 6:07 pm

Sammy2 wrote:

Yes.. Where is said thread? (I know, old post)

I remember discussion of this back in the day but don't remember where the information is as I didn't need it at the time, I didn't bookmark it..

HELP!


viewtopic.php?p=36287&sid=36564d20ed7854b7bb31290397c06aff#p36287

attachment contains the instructions and codes to have the Echo listen to only a specific IR codeset
RyC
 
Posts: 636
Joined: 21 August 2012

Post#43 » Mon May 08, 2017 6:21 pm

RyC wrote:
Sammy2 wrote:

Yes.. Where is said thread? (I know, old post)

I remember discussion of this back in the day but don't remember where the information is as I didn't need it at the time, I didn't bookmark it..

HELP!


viewtopic.php?p=36287&sid=36564d20ed7854b7bb31290397c06aff#p36287

attachment contains the instructions and codes to have the Echo listen to only a specific IR codeset


That's it!

As you can see, I even participated in that thread. LOL. Could have searched my own posts. Anyway, I think that it may be easier just using the blasters on my Harmony 900 than learning all the codes from a different code set in an echo / MCE remote. As a matter of fact, I've already done that. Thanks for finding this for me. Much appreciated.
Sammy2
 
Posts: 1360
Joined: 24 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#44 » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:42 pm

The flutter of activity in this thread made me think that someone found a rackmount shelf for the echo :-)

For what it's worth, I did eventually rack mount my echos. I used a 1u monoprice shelf, a section of DIN rail, these 35mm spring-loaded din rail clips (https://www.winford.com/products/dinm15.php) and these mounting brackets from Intelix (https://secure.libertycable.com/product ... NG-BRACKET). Instead of using the clips that came with the intelix brackets, I used the more stable din rail clips from Winford engineering (I don't recall if the holes lined up or if I had to drill additional holes, but it was fairly easy).

The echos are attached vertically to the intellix brackets and clip onto the DIN rails. The big benefit to this approach (vertical mounting) is increased density. If I recall correctly, I have something like 5 HDMI audio converters, 2 hdbaseT transmitters, 2 Echos, a Roku, and an airport express all mounted neatly on the same rack shelf. The spring loaded din rail clips allow you to easily remove any of the devices for maintenance. I'll snap a picture one of these days.
tad
 
Posts: 222
Joined: 30 August 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Previous

Return to Ceton Echo Extender



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron