MMC no longer upcoming TV shows after installing EPG123

Discuss My Media Center for Windows 8, Windows RT, iOS, Android, and WP, and ask Ceton for support.
Important Information
Ceton no longer participate in this forum. There is no official support mechanism for My Media Center.

MMC no longer upcoming TV shows after installing EPG123

Post#1 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:48 pm

Hello,

I recently installed EPG123 and it's been great. All except for I think it might be the reason that MMC is no longer showing upcoming shows when I try to search for them.

I can search for any title and if I have it recorded, it'll show the recorded TV, but it will *not* show future broadcastings.

I am thinking it's because of installing EPG123 (there's no Rovi/MS guide downloaded, I clicked "do not agree" when setting up the TV settings after entering my zip code).

I also thought maybe since MMC is no longer available on the iTunes store that subsequent iOS updates may have destroyed its functionality (since clicking on "series" in the app makes it crash now), but to test this, I got on an Android tablet and downloaded MMC (*another $5! @#*($&QA!*) and it also does not show any future TV listings.

Please let me know anything you have learned, I'm all ears! Thanks!
Avery
AveryFreeman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 4 August 2017

Post#2 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:06 am

It's got to be an EPG 1 2 3 problem.

I just checked my rovi MMC Android. Everything's fine.
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 4139
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#3 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:26 am

This sounds basic, but have you restarted the media center computer. Next, I'd reinstall MMC. I'm running epg123 along with MMC and mine works perfectly.
dkrom
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 17 November 2014

Post#4 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 5:26 am

I think I recall something about clearing the cache in the MMC application after installing EPG123. Not sure it will fix this specific issue, but there is good chance it will.

EDIT:
Here is an older post:

viewtopic.php?f=99&t=11067
Space
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#5 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:40 pm

Yes. Just clear the cache and let it rebuild. MMC works just fine with EPG123.
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#6 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:12 pm

Is that where you press "Clean start" under Client and Configuration actions?

If so, I've done that

I have also cleared the tuner data using the Ceton InfiniTV setup app, for when I switched from HDHRP to ITV. I've done it a few times, actually.

Or does this mean I need to start over from scratch and do all of it? There's a slightly newer version of EPG123 than the one I've been using that has an installation file I've been meaning to try ...


EDIT: I read this thread http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/viewtopic.php?f=64&t=2613 about troubleshooting MMC -- It mentions something about indexing WMC. I noticed that my hard drives were not being indexed, so I turned that on.

However, at the very end of the thread, there's a picture of the indexing settings having WMC itself set to index. I don't see any way to add WMC to my indexing list, and I can't seem to find any other threads about it.

Does anyone know how I can do that?

Thanks
Avery
AveryFreeman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 4 August 2017

Post#7 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:10 pm

I figured clearing the cache wasn’t the issue since you said you tried the android app and it didn’t work either. Maybe I wasn’t clear in saying you should reinstall MMC, I meant that you should uninstall the Ceton My Media Center Services on your PC, then reinstall it - http://cetoncorp.com/products/companion/
dkrom
 
Posts: 195
Joined: 17 November 2014

Post#8 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:19 pm

I got it working by indexing C: -- it was turned off because I previously had an 80gb SSD that was running out of room (recently just upgraded and cloned previous image)

Tested and works on both Android and iOS copies of MMC --- hopefully indefinitely, because there aren't any new versions ever being made!

Thanks for all your help, everybody!\
AveryFreeman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 4 August 2017

Post#9 » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:57 pm

For future reference. Just need to clear the MMC cache to start bringing in new data from the EPG123 guide. One time only fix.Image
User avatar
garyan2
 
Posts: 2293
Joined: 27 November 2015
HTPC Specs: Show details
- Gary
Stomping out the Rovi disease, one media center at a time. http://epg123.garyan2.net

Post#10 » Fri Aug 11, 2017 2:30 am

If you are still missing the indexing option for WMC, you can add it back using the instructions in this post:

viewtopic.php?f=49&t=2194&p=20848

If you do not have that indexing enabled, I don't think you can do searches within WMC, and I also think it will not record any scheduled shows.
Space
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#11 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:24 pm

Just to be clear - I tried clearing cache on the Android App and it did nothing.

My particular problem was that my Windows C:\ drive not being indexed. When I did that it started working again.

Can't say it'll be true for anybody else, but if you're having issues like mine, that's another place to look.

Thanks for all your help everybody.
AveryFreeman
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 4 August 2017


Return to Ceton My Media Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron