One TV stations will not record in WMC

Help with tuners from ATI, Hauppauge, AverMedia and more.
gwj

HTPC Specs: Show details

One TV stations will not record in WMC

Post by gwj » Sun Jun 23, 2013 8:56 pm

I have been using WMC for over three years. I have an outside antenna so I only get about 40 local stations. I bought a HP computer just to use for watching TV - I have two tuners. All the stations come in that should and I am able to record all but two. I can watch the local FOX station but not record it. They service two channels. When I have tried to record, I get a message saying there is no TV signal, but yet I can bring up the menu and click on the station and view it. When I first noticed this, I contacted the folks who are responsible for the program notes and they could not give me any help. I contacted the local FOX station to be sure I had the right information and they could not help. Since there is not that much I want to record on FOX, it has not been a problem, just a nuisance knowing I can't record.
When the FOX station changed from analog to digital just over three years ago, we had to use a different channel number in some situations. From channel 8 to channel 35. When I watch it just on my TV, not using the computer tuner, I have to go to channel 35.1, when I look at it using the computer TV tuner, I have to enter channel 8.1. I know this is a lot of information, hopefully someone will have a solution.

holidayboy

Post by holidayboy » Mon Jun 24, 2013 12:24 pm

I probably can't help much as I think the (ATSC?) tuner setup process is slightly different to how the UK stuff works.

Have you checked in the edit channel menu for the stations to make sure everything looks OK there?

Right click the channel number/name>click edit channel>click edit sources and look down the list for anything out of the ordinary. You should just have two sources checked (one for each tuner).

Hopefully somebody else can jump in with ideas...