Media Center 7/8 DRM Reset Success

Media Center 7/8 DRM Reset Success

Post#1 » Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:35 am

This is for anyone getting the dreaded "Video playback device does not support playback of protected content" on Windows 7 or Windows 8 Media Center. One way to determine if your problem is a common DRM incompatibility is if that message appears, but you can minimize and then maximize Media Center to make the TV play, then this should work for you.

After hours of searching and trying every possible combination or steps from various FAQs and trial/error, I have finally found the set of steps that will reset DRM on both versions of Windows Media Center.

You must do this with an administrator account and Media Center closed.

3 key takeaways relative to other FAQs for those who have attempted this before
a) no need to manually rename or delete files in the DRM folder
b) no need to use the Micrsoft DRM web page - it won't work with Windows 8 at all and is not required for Windows 7
c) ResetDRM must be extracted and run manually

1) under control panel / folder options / view note your current settings and then
a) enable show hidden files, folders or drives
b) disable hide protected operating systems

2) Apply control panel changes but leave window open to reset at the end

3) open control panel / administrative tools / services and select "Windows Media Center Receiver Service". Stop the service

4) with Windows explorer remove the following files / folders
a) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\mspr.hds
b) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\cache
c) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcendindiv.hds
d) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\cache

5) download ResetDRM.exe from http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?LinkId=105000

6) use winrar or winzip to extract files from ResetDRM.exe (ADVPACK.DLL CleanDRM.exe resetdrm.inf) to a temp folder. ResetDRM will not run by itself on Windows 8 in any compatibility mode so you MUST extract it

7) use explorer to find cmd.exe at C:\Windows\System32

8 ) right click on cmd.exe and "run as administrator"

9) cd to the temp folder where you extracted ResetDRM.exe

10) run "CleanDRM.exe -v". A text window will open after a few seconds and verify that several files were removed. If there is an error that a resource could not be opened for exclusive access, you might need to reboot and try again after making sure that Media Center does not start automatically

11) exit cmd.exe

12) open Media Center

13) navigate to settings / TV / TV Signal / Update PlayReady

14) if Update PlayReady fails:
a) minimize Media Center without closing it
b) stop the Media Center Receiver service again
c) maximize Media Center
d) "try again" to update PlayReady

15) PlayReady should show a success page

16) go to TV Guide and attempt to watch a show

17) if everything went properly, you should be able to watch live TV

18 ) go back to control panel / folders and return the hidden/system file settings back to your original options

Please leave feedback if I missed anything or if you have suggestions to make this list more complete. There are countless posts about Windows DRM issues so hopefully this helps people out
ViperBoy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 9 December 2012

Post#2 » Thu Jun 27, 2013 10:47 pm

How do I reinstall playready in windows 8?

Update Playready is missing.
shawnmos
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 June 2013

Post#3 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 11:58 pm

ViperBoy wrote:This is for anyone getting the dreaded "Video playback device does not support playback of protected content" on Windows 7 or Windows 8 Media Center. One way to determine if your problem is a common DRM incompatibility is if that message appears, but you can minimize and then maximize Media Center to make the TV play, then this should work for you.

After hours of searching and trying every possible combination or steps from various FAQs and trial/error, I have finally found the set of steps that will reset DRM on both versions of Windows Media Center.


ViperBoy: I just registered to TGB simply to say "thank you" -- those instructions worked perfectly me for me. Your guidance helped end several days of confusion and frustration with PlayReady. Much appreciated!
Matthizzle
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 July 2013

Post#4 » Mon Jul 15, 2013 3:14 pm

What you wrote here:
ViperBoy wrote:3 key takeaways relative to other FAQs for those who have attempted this before
a) no need to manually rename or delete files in the DRM folder
<snip>


Contradicts what you wrote here:
ViperBoy wrote:4) with Windows explorer remove the following files / folders
a) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\mspr.hds
b) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\cache
c) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcendindiv.hds
d) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\cache
barnabas1969
 
Posts: 5080
Joined: 21 June 2011
Location: Melbourne, Florida, USA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
Some people appreciate a person who will tell them the truth no matter what. Everyone else can take a hike.

Post#5 » Thu Aug 22, 2013 9:20 pm

Count me among the people this thread has helped, thank you! The ResetDRM piece was key for me. Similar to ShawnMos, I don't see "Update PlayReady" in WMC anymore so I skipped steps 13-15, but the video playback error message is gone so I think it is all good.
sensij
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 1 August 2013

Post#6 » Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:25 pm

Just wanted to say thanks ViperBoy.
I had the bright idea to upgrade my Media Center PC's Processor 2 hours before I had something important to do today.
I can't believe that the simple swap from a AMD Athlon x2 to a Phenom X4 kills DRM and there's no reset built in to Windows 8 Media Center.

My wife's happy! There would be no tv possible in the house since everything runs through my media center PC.

Thanks again for a clear fast fix to this issue that shouldn't exist in the first place.
OliverM3
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 8 September 2013

Post#7 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:00 pm

barnabas1969 wrote:What you wrote here:
ViperBoy wrote:3 key takeaways relative to other FAQs for those who have attempted this before
a) no need to manually rename or delete files in the DRM folder
<snip>


Contradicts what you wrote here:
ViperBoy wrote:4) with Windows explorer remove the following files / folders
a) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\mspr.hds
b) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\PlayReady\cache
c) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\mcendindiv.hds
d) C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\eHome\cache


The files that are shown to delete are not in the DRM folder.... not a contradiction...
User avatar
dejavux2
 
Posts: 43
Joined: 10 August 2011
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#8 » Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:31 am

This unfortunately did not work for me. PlayReady did not show up as an option to update but that didn't seem to be a problem with others. Still when I start WMC and go to the guide, a program may play for a second or 2 then I get the message. Minimizing and maximizing does not seem to make any difference. This is driving me nuts. I have set up XBMC and have been able to watch TV on there but it appears to be buggy. I can also view live TV through my Quick TV from Silicon Dust. If anyone has any other thoughts I'd be oh so grateful. Thanks.
lltorson
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 November 2013

Post#9 » Sat Dec 07, 2013 3:54 pm

FWIW: I had to use this procedure a year or so ago and went thru it multiple times with no success, then it finally worked and I 'think' the only thing I did different when it worked was that I rebooted in between, I think, almost each major step.
rmalbers
 
Posts: 42
Joined: 23 October 2012

Post#10 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:02 pm

Thank god for your well written directions. I just swapped out processor and motherboard and was struggling with every other set of instructions on the net for resetting the drm... and the tool was pretty much useless. Tried your instructions and everything worked perfectly on the first go around!
werds
 
Posts: 400
Joined: 28 February 2012
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#11 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:53 pm

IN my case Every morning my TV PC reboots and it will ask for a PlayReady update. I have followed the instructions to the letter.

One of the questions that I have: The ProgramData DRM folders are empty. I have selected view hidden files etc. But even going to regedit HKEY_Local_Machine\Software\Microsoft\DRM I get Value not set. Isn't this key suppose to point to The Program Data DRM Folder?

Ed Rios
Columbus, OH
kp4akb
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 12 March 2013
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Ed Rios

Post#12 » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:28 am

I had the same problem as you. I followed all the instructions here but still got the "playready update was incomplete" error.
I even uninstalled/re-installed windows "media features", which is supposed to recreate the DRM key, with no luck.

This is what actually fixed the issue for me:
Open the file below, when prompted, click upgrade to install a Windows Media Player component upgrade.
After that completes, go back to WMC and run TV setup.

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=166118


Reference page:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/976590


I hope this helps.
Z
Zodiac
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 February 2014

Post#13 » Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:14 am

I've tried this and MANY other things including tinkering with the registry. None of those methods worked for me. This is what I had to do:

Uninstall Playready from Control Panel (reboot may be necessary).
Uninstall Digital Cable Advisor from Control Panel
Open WMC
Run Digital Cable Advisor
Go through Live TV Setup

I hope this helps someone.
seangrimes
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 18 March 2014
"Power is the ability to define reality and then to convince others that it is their definition."

Post#14 » Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:57 am

seangrimes wrote:I've tried this and MANY other things including tinkering with the registry. None of those methods worked for me. This is what I had to do:

Uninstall Playready from Control Panel (reboot may be necessary).
Uninstall Digital Cable Advisor from Control Panel
Open WMC
Run Digital Cable Advisor
Go through Live TV Setup

I hope this helps someone.

It seems like the above fix doesn't work all the time. I have the Playready issue again and can't seem to get it fixed this time. Even reinstalling Windows didn't help!
seangrimes
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 18 March 2014
"Power is the ability to define reality and then to convince others that it is their definition."


Return to Windows 7 Media Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: richard1980 and 5 guests

cron