TV tuners won't wake up

Help with tuners from ATI, Hauppauge, AverMedia and more.

Re: tv tuners won't wake up

Post#21 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:37 am

The only ones I see about scheduled recordings are the ones that eventually record. For example, when I came home on the Thursday, and got on the computer the manual recording that was supposed to start at 7:00 pm finally started around 8:30 and I have the Warning below. Oddly enough, it says it began “AS SCHEDULED… WHILE…ALREADY IN PROGRESS” even though it was actually an hour and a half late. I also included the info in the DETAILS tab for this one at the VERY BOTTOM.

However, I DON’T HAVE ANY ERRORS FOR THE EARLIER THURSDAY RECORDINGS THAT DID NOT START. Also, I WAS ACTUALLY AT HOME ON THE COMPUTER when the 2nd Thursday recording listed below at 9:00 pm did not start and I noticed it about 40 minutes into it and eventually managed to get it to start recording. When I first pulled it up, it looked like it was recording-red dot in Guide and said Now in Scheduled, but was not in Recorded TV.

I did not come home Friday night and I have NO MESSAGES FOR THE MISSING Friday recordings at all.

I left the computer on overnight Thursday and I’m not sure what the 6:21 am Warning is about. It may or may not be relevant at all. It’s possible that’s when I turned off the computer Friday morning, but I’m not sure.

ANYTHING THAT DOESN'T RECORD LEAVES NO TRACE HERE OR IN THE MEDIA CENTER HISTORY.

3/29/2012 20:27:18
Recording of Fox News 19-23 began as scheduled on 3/29/2012 8:27:17 PM while the program was already in progress.

3/29/2012 23:02:00
Recording of Fox News 19-23 began late on 3/29/2012 8:27:17 PM due to a temporary failure caused by either a system malfunction or a power loss and stopped on 3/29/2012 11:02:00 PM.

3/29/2012 22:03:00
Recording of Touch: Safety in Numbers began late on 3/29/2012 9:41:55 PM due to a temporary failure caused by either a system malfunction or a power loss and stopped on 3/29/2012 10:03:00 PM.

3/30/2012 06:21:28
Windows detected your registry file is still in use by other applications or services. The file will be unloaded now. The applications or services that hold your registry file may not function properly afterwards.

DETAIL -
5 user registry handles leaked from \Registry\User\S-1-5-21-2563513272-3704569684-1523810850-1000:
Process 656 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Windows\System32\lsass.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-2563513272-3704569684-1523810850-1000
Process 656 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Windows\System32\lsass.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-2563513272-3704569684-1523810850-1000
Process 656 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Windows\System32\lsass.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-2563513272-3704569684-1523810850-1000\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\My
Process 656 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Windows\System32\lsass.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-2563513272-3704569684-1523810850-1000\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\CA
Process 656 (\Device\HarddiskVolume2\Windows\System32\lsass.exe) has opened key \REGISTRY\USER\S-1-5-21-2563513272-3704569684-1523810850-1000\Software\Microsoft\SystemCertificates\Disallowed


DETAILS TAB FROM 3/29/2012 20:27:18 Warning

- System
- Provider
[ Name] Recording

- EventID 2
[ Qualifiers] 0

Level 3

Task 0

Keywords 0x80000000000000

- TimeCreated
[ SystemTime] 2012-03-30T00:27:18.000000000Z

EventRecordID 20262

Channel Media Center

Computer hardy-PC

Security

- EventData
Recording of Fox News 19-23 began as scheduled on 3/29/2012 8:27:17 PM while the program was already in progress.
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
________________________________________
Binary data:
In Words
0000: FFFFFFFF FFFFFFFF 00000009 00385704
0008: 00210000 0046000E 0078006F 004E0020
0010: 00770065 00200073 00390031 0032002D
0018: 00020033 00390035 00460003 0043004E
0020: 00060000 00590053 00540053 004D0045
0028: 00480027 00750061 00700070 00750061
0030: 00650067 00570020 006E0069 00560054
0038: 0037002D 00360031 00200034 006E0041
0040: 006C0061 0067006F 00540020 00200056
0048: 00750054 0065006E 00200072 00340023
0050: 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000100
0058: 00000000 00000000 00430046 005C003A
0060: 00730055 00720065 005C0073 00750050
0068: 006C0062 00630069 0052005C 00630065
0070: 0072006F 00650064 00200064 00560054
0078: 0046005C 0078006F 004E0020 00770065
0080: 00200073 00390031 0032002D 005F0033
0088: 004E0046 005F0043 00300032 00320031
0090: 0030005F 005F0033 00390032 0032005F
0098: 005F0030 00370032 0031005F 002E0032
00a0: 00740077 70430076 04C09B48 B60B40E4
00a8: 04C40B60 40E4
In Bytes
0000: FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF ÿÿÿÿÿÿÿÿ
0008: 09 00 00 00 04 57 38 00 .....W8.
0010: 00 00 21 00 0E 00 46 00 ..!...F.
0018: 6F 00 78 00 20 00 4E 00 o.x. .N.
0020: 65 00 77 00 73 00 20 00 e.w.s. .
0028: 31 00 39 00 2D 00 32 00 1.9.-.2.
0030: 33 00 02 00 35 00 39 00 3...5.9.
0038: 03 00 46 00 4E 00 43 00 ..F.N.C.
0040: 00 00 06 00 53 00 59 00 ....S.Y.
0048: 53 00 54 00 45 00 4D 00 S.T.E.M.
0050: 27 00 48 00 61 00 75 00 '.H.a.u.
0058: 70 00 70 00 61 00 75 00 p.p.a.u.
0060: 67 00 65 00 20 00 57 00 g.e. .W.
0068: 69 00 6E 00 54 00 56 00 i.n.T.V.
0070: 2D 00 37 00 31 00 36 00 -.7.1.6.
0078: 34 00 20 00 41 00 6E 00 4. .A.n.
0080: 61 00 6C 00 6F 00 67 00 a.l.o.g.
0088: 20 00 54 00 56 00 20 00 .T.V. .
0090: 54 00 75 00 6E 00 65 00 T.u.n.e.
0098: 72 00 20 00 23 00 34 00 r. .#.4.
00a0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
00a8: 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 ........
00b0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ........
00b8: 46 00 43 00 3A 00 5C 00 F.C.:.\.
00c0: 55 00 73 00 65 00 72 00 U.s.e.r.
00c8: 73 00 5C 00 50 00 75 00 s.\.P.u.
00d0: 62 00 6C 00 69 00 63 00 b.l.i.c.
00d8: 5C 00 52 00 65 00 63 00 \.R.e.c.
00e0: 6F 00 72 00 64 00 65 00 o.r.d.e.
00e8: 64 00 20 00 54 00 56 00 d. .T.V.
00f0: 5C 00 46 00 6F 00 78 00 \.F.o.x.
00f8: 20 00 4E 00 65 00 77 00 .N.e.w.
0100: 73 00 20 00 31 00 39 00 s. .1.9.
0108: 2D 00 32 00 33 00 5F 00 -.2.3._.
0110: 46 00 4E 00 43 00 5F 00 F.N.C._.
0118: 32 00 30 00 31 00 32 00 2.0.1.2.
0120: 5F 00 30 00 33 00 5F 00 _.0.3._.
0128: 32 00 39 00 5F 00 32 00 2.9._.2.
0130: 30 00 5F 00 32 00 37 00 0._.2.7.
0138: 5F 00 31 00 32 00 2E 00 _.1.2...
0140: 77 00 74 00 76 00 43 70 w.t.v.Cp
0148: 48 9B C0 04 E4 40 0B B6 H›À.ä@.¶
0150: 60 0B C4 04 E4 40 `.Ä.ä@
ael_lel
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 March 2012

Post#22 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:45 pm

I want you to check two things and report back to me.
follow this guide and make sure your PC is set for the correct time & time zone for where you live.
http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/94 ... hange.html

After restart the PC Enter your BIOS and make sure the System Time and Date are correct as well. (it will most likely be on the first Page that pops up) If you have to change the time or date, do so then save the changes and exit.
Let me know if you had to make any changes to the date or Time/Time Zone on either the BIOS or Windows.


UPDATE:
There is also a Lsass.exe (lsass.exe) error being logged:
More info on that here: http://www.exe-error.com/lsass-exe-error.php
There are two types of this error one is spelled with an i one with an L. Yours to me looks like the (L) which basically verifies the validity of user logons to your PC. The other is a Virus. (I don't think you have this but run a Anti-Virus Scan Just in case like Microsoft Security Essentials and do a full system scan.)
It could be that whom ever worked on your PC removed or deleted a file that was needed by Windows.
Uninstalling a program can lead to a .dll that was being used by several different programs to be accidentally removed from your PC. This will mean that the programs that need to use this .dll that are still installed on your machine will function incorrectly, or not at all.
I would almost suggest doing a system restore and see if that fixes things. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/wind ... em-Restore
newfiend~
Last edited by newfiend on Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#23 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:15 pm

The time and time zone were correct in both places.

However, your questions reminded me that when I first got my computer back, the time was an hour ahead. I don't remember if the time zone was wrong, but the time itself was.
ael_lel
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 March 2012

Post#24 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:34 pm

Updated info above : ^^
When was the last time you ran Windows Update?
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#25 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:56 pm

It looks like the last update for Windows 7 was 3/23/12. Then there are several from 3/24-4/2 for Microsoft Security Essentials. I am running a full scan now. I'm not sure what you want me to do with the Lsass.exe error information. Where do I even find the error info?

I don't think the repair guy would have deleted any files. He was specifically trying to recover files for me. The files I deleted were in a specific folder (and subfolders) called Old Computer. It seems unlikely to me that these folders would have contained any pertinent files? What do you think? Thanks
ael_lel
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 March 2012

Post#26 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 5:22 pm

Click start, Right click Computer, select properties.. Look in the window that opens and see if Windows Is activated. (on the right Under Logo)
How many Administrator accounts are registered on the PC?
You can check by clicking start, Control panel, Users.
newfiend~
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#27 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:02 pm

After confering with a few others on here via PM, They and I think your best bet may be to do a format and re-install of Windows. I hate to suggest such a drastic measure, but sometimes It's really the best option. With out knowing what was done by the other person durring the recovery process, It would be difficult at best for us to try and determine exactly what the issue is here. It looks to me (And I am guessing here) that it could be a certificates issue which basically verifies the validity of user logons to your PC.
The only other thing I can think of to try would be to Create a new Administrator User Account. Delete your current User Account and see if things then return to normal using the new account. I don't know if the certificates created for your current account are corrupt, damaged or otherwise and maybe creating a new Admin account would maybe fix that. This is just a guess and probably the last thing I would try before formating and just re-installing Windows 7.
Sometimes It's just better to start fresh. If you are unfamiliar with re-installing get help from someone that can help you back up sensative data (pictures, music, movies or personal files before formating as you will loose all your data.) And then reinstall the OS and drivers for you.
I'm sorry I couldn't help more. I did PM Richard1980 to let him have a look at this thread and see what his opinion is as well. Hopefully he will chime in here with some more information or suggestions for you.
newfiend~
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#28 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 11:03 pm

I agree with doing a reinstall. While it is a drastic measure, it is much easier to spend a couple of hours reinstalling everything than it is to spend days just trying to figure out the problem....and that's not even counting the time to fix the problem after you finally find it.

I would also recommend implementing a backup solution. That way you won't have to worry about a full reinstall the next time something goes wrong.
richard1980
 
Posts: 2623
Joined: 8 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#29 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:54 am

richard1980 wrote:it is much easier to spend a couple of hours reinstalling everything

Except that when I installed Windows 7 from DVD, it took over a week to download all of the updates (and that was starting with an SP1 DVD!). What I found is that Windows Update would download a set of updates, but if I then immediately ran Windows Update again it said that there were no more updates. But when I tried again the next day, there were updates. And this continued every day for over a week, with the updates being older ones, not ones that had just been issued.

I would surmise that the Windows Update server was imposing some sort of usage limit in order to prevent a small number of users hogging all of the server's capacity. The limit might be along the lines of "you cannot download more than n GB of updates within a single 24-hour period". Since every Windows installation has a unique licence code, the server could easily identify the same system attempting multiple downloads on a single day, and return "no updates available" if the limit was exceeded. This is all speculation, of course.

-- from CyberSimian in the UK
User avatar
CyberSimian
 
Posts: 494
Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: Southampton, UK
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#30 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:34 am

it certainly takes more than a couple of hours for me to reinstall a couple of days is more like it but there's loads of manual config in dvblink and big screen epg. i saw this the other day, no idea if it will be helpful but it seems you can put together an installation disk with all the updates ready http://lifehacker.com/5894838/customize ... our-dreams
bobbob
 
Posts: 676
Joined: 26 October 2011

Post#31 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 4:14 pm

Yes it does take time to reinstall, the length of time will depend on how you have your system set up. Windows updates will take some time even with a sp1 disk. It sucks to have to do but we have all had to at some point. Sometimes it's just better to start fresh. Especially when you can spend days or weeks trying to find a problem and not get anywhere.

Sent from my WP7 using Board Express
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#32 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 5:30 pm

I've been reluctant to post here because it seems like a difficult problem to solve without being able to sit down at the PC myself. I agree that re-installing Windows will probably be easier at this point. It seems that more time has been spent trying to fix this problem than it would have taken to reinstall.

Since the OP doesn't seem to be using OCUR tuners, he should not have any copy-protected recordings... so they should still play fine after a reinstall of Windows. Further, if the recordings are on a different hard drive from the operating system, it will be possible to reinstall Windows without losing anything. If, however, the recordings, pictures, music, or other media files are on the same drive as the operating system, then the OP will definitely need to make a backup of those files before reinstalling.

If the OP's PC is very "vanilla", without any plugins or other special configurations, a reinstall should only take 3-4 hours.

Hopefully the OP has his original Windows installation disk and license key. If this was a pre-built machine, he'll likely need to call the manufacturer to have a restore disk shipped to him. They usually do this at little or no cost.
barnabas1969
 
Posts: 5738
Joined: 21 June 2011
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#33 » Tue Apr 03, 2012 6:11 pm

CyberSimian wrote:Except that when I installed Windows 7 from DVD, it took over a week to download all of the updates


Certain events can trigger further updates. Some plugins install other prequisite softwares which sometimes call for an update for one example. Very often I install Windows and enter my key sometime thereafter which also triggers some optional updates. I believe even running IE for the first time triggers an update or two.

Regardless, Windows updates isn't that intimidating nor all that time consuming.
User avatar
mcewinter
 
Posts: 986
Joined: 30 June 2011
Location: Chicago
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#34 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:35 am

Maybe I'm just weird or something, but it doesn't take me long to do a full reinstall. Installing the OS only takes me about 15-20 minutes or so, and installing additional software only takes me another 10-15 minutes. I keep local copies of the installation packages for the extra software I use, so I don't have to re-download everything again. Configuring WMC doesn't take me long either. TBH, the thing that takes the most amount of time for me is downloading and installing Windows updates, but I can still manage to get it done in a decent amount of time. Of course, I cheat a bit. I'm cheap when it comes to my cable bill, so I have a slow internet connection (1 Mbps down / 256 Kbps up). If I know I'm going to be downloading something big and I don't want to wait for it, I temporarily upgrade my internet package to something with some good bandwidth (I can get all the way up to 55 Mbps down/5.5 Mbps up). When I'm finished with my downloading spree, I downgrade my service back to the cheap package.

In the end, it only takes me about 2-3 hours to completely reset the entire system. Of course, it only takes a few minutes if I restore a system image....much quicker than going through a full install.
richard1980
 
Posts: 2623
Joined: 8 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#35 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:13 am

If you have things like remote potato and or dvrmst to set up then you may have to spend some time geting things tip top. Building my libraries can take a good hour as I prefer to let it finish on initial install as opposed to background scanning.

Although, when I do a clean install, I never do everything in one sitting. I start off with OS install, updates, drivers, BD software and I then set up MC. Then I add in whatever plugins and customizations one at a time and only one a day. I like to take my time after the basic install and let my WHS back things up in between.
User avatar
mcewinter
 
Posts: 986
Joined: 30 June 2011
Location: Chicago
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#36 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:23 am

Guys, I have a feeling that the OP isn't a computer wiz... and probably doesn't have lots of extras installed on the computer. Let's keep it simple for the OP.
barnabas1969
 
Posts: 5738
Joined: 21 June 2011
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#37 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:46 am

This very much sounds to me like the task to fire the recording isn't firing, as no error is logged - I'd be eyeing task scheduler
erkotz
 
Posts: 1378
Joined: 22 August 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB VeteranCeton Employee
Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation

Post#38 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:40 am

erkotz wrote:This very much sounds to me like the task to fire the recording isn't firing, as no error is logged - I'd be eyeing task scheduler



Okay, I went into the task scheduler and all these errors started popping up. At first, it was the same error a few times (or at least very similar) and I just thought it was stuck at this error and kept hitting ok. But, then it changed the last one said something about recorder, but I missed the exact verbiage.

The one it's on now says Task mcupdate_scheduled: The task image is corrupt or has been tampered with. (I did have to manually download guide listings yesterday because it said I only had 3 days left. I think the mcupdate may be related to the auto guide download). (THEY ALL ENDED WITH THIS CORRUPT OR TAMPERED WITH LINE).
After all the errors were finished, I clicked Display All Running Tasks and I got a popup error that just says The task image is corrupt or has been tampered with.

I found a link that said to look in this folder: C:\Windows\System32\Tasks I googled some of the names I found there (GoogleUpdateTaskMachineCore, HPCeeScheduleFor,...) and the suggestions that came up had a .JOB extension with them, but I don't see that on mine. Could that be why they are corrupt?

How do I fix a corrupt task image? How do I find those errors again and is there anything I can tell you about them that may help? Thanks

p.s. Now when I click Display All Running Tasks I get Task Scheduler service is not available. Verify that the service is running.
ael_lel
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 27 March 2012

Post#39 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:02 pm

Erkotz, I would have never thought of that. Great catch!

ael_lel, it seems that your computer repair guy didn't do you any favors. It sounds like he somehow corrupted or changed the files that contain the details of your scheduled tasks when he recovered the deleted files. Task scheduler checks the integrity of those files to prevent malicious use of the scheduler's ability to run tasks with elevated privileges. I don't have experience fixing this issue... hopefully someone else can chime in. I did a quick search, and it seems the consensus is to delete the tasks, both from the file system and from the registry... and then to manually re-create each of the deleted tasks. I sure would hate to tell you to delete and re-create all of those tasks.
barnabas1969
 
Posts: 5738
Joined: 21 June 2011
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#40 » Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:08 pm

barnabas1969 wrote:Erkotz, I would have never thought of that. Great catch!

ael_lel, it seems that your computer repair guy didn't do you any favors. It sounds like he somehow corrupted or changed the files that contain the details of your scheduled tasks when he recovered the deleted files. Task scheduler checks the integrity of those files to prevent malicious use of the scheduler's ability to run tasks with elevated privileges. I don't have experience fixing this issue... hopefully someone else can chime in. I did a quick search, and it seems the consensus is to delete the tasks, both from the file system and from the registry... and then to manually re-create each of the deleted tasks. I sure would hate to tell you to delete and re-create all of those tasks.

At this point.. (at least for me).. I would wonder just how much damage is actually done? And how much time will I be investing in trying to find/fix all of this.. I still stand by doing a system refresh and start over.
At least that way you know things are going to work like they should afterward.
newfiend~
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2416
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

PreviousNext

Return to Other TV Tuners



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron