New theme!!

jachin99

HTPC Specs: Show details

New theme!!

Post by jachin99 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:46 pm

I built a new theme for Media Center, and the best way to show all the changes is with a video. See here https://youtu.be/PkzQPLDMQKQ

Sammy2

Post by Sammy2 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:38 pm

So what did you use to theme WMC? I've been using it since 2011 and haven't done anything but plain jane blue.

Can the background pictures be changed?

The Youtube videos.. are they downloaded videos or is that fed directly from youtube.com?

I'm seeing Netflix in there. Is that working?

Finally, does this work on extenders?

Thanks.

jachin99

Post by jachin99 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:45 pm

I used software called ezvid to capture my screen. It's free but it inserts a small ad in the beginning.
-To change the background I used a modified version of ehres.dll (This is just a graphics file for windows media center) that already had new images edited for each page (Music, Movies, etc.).
- I then applied the Modern 8 theme using media center themer, and used Modern 8 to replace the stock images from my modified ehres file, and change a few things I didn't like. Modern 8 theme was built in such a way that it can be easily modified and I have carried this over into my theme. Every image seen in the video and hundreds more can be changed. To bring Netflix back I replaced a missing file. This Netflix relies on flash and pause and play have to be clicked with a mouse but it otherwise still works. I have more and I'll share my files for what is in the video but I wanted to gauge interest for a little bit so I'm open to suggestions. And it does work with extenders
Last edited by jachin99 on Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sammy2

Post by Sammy2 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:00 pm

So not Mediacenter Studio or Mediacenter Themer?

Am I misunderstanding how you applied the settings?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

jachin99

Post by jachin99 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:23 pm