Xbox360 Media Center extender freezing

onlyhuman

HTPC Specs: Show details

Xbox360 Media Center extender freezing

Post by onlyhuman » Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:16 pm

Hi all, hoping someone has some good knowledge and can help me through this issue.

Background: I have been running Win7 x64 Media Center for 5 years on my current computer with no problems. I have recently upgraded to Win10 and of course lost Media Center. I found an old Dell Optiplex 990 desktop and installed Win7 x64 and configured Media Center. It has a SSD hard drive and 8Gb RAM. It's on the same network, same Xbox 360, only change is the Media Center PC is a new build.

Problem: When playing recorded TV through the Xbox 360 extender it will freeze up every few minutes. Sometimes if you let it sit the video will start playing again. Sometimes you can hit pause/play to get it started again. I see the same issue wen playing live TV but not as bad. I do not have the problems when playing the video directly from the Media Center PC.

What I have tried:
Updated BIOS and all drivers
Tested both wifi and wired, same problem
Enabled Flow Control (Rx and Tx) on PC
Enabled Jumbo Packets (tested both 4088 & 9014)
Set NIC Link Speed to 100Mb Full Duplex, also tested 1Gb Full Duplex
Disabled AV (MS Security Essentials) Real-Time scanning
Upgraded Router Firmware and reset all settings to default

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

randman

Post by randman » Mon Aug 15, 2016 11:24 pm

Is the XBOX getting too hot? I purchased a used XBOX 360 and set it up as an extender. It ran fine for a while and then would freeze every so often and sometimes not even boot up. I eventually took it apart and re-applied some thermal paste to the heat sink and that resolved the issue for me. I has been running fine for about 8 months now. This may be completely unrelated to your issue, but this was my experience with a similar situation. It had nothing to do with my PC.

adam1991