Screen hangs for 2 or so minutes

Screen hangs for 2 or so minutes

Post#1 » Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:30 pm

Hi all

I've had a good run so far with my 8.1wmc machine, but I've recently developed a problem. When waking from sleep or from a reboot, whatever action I request from WMC whether it be show the guide or Live TV, or enter the recorded tv section the picture hangs for about 2 or 3 minutes before it comes to life again and goes to wherever it is supposed to.

If multiple key presses has happened during the hang time, the system chases all those functions once the hang time has ended. If Live TV has been selected, it actually activates the channel and I can hear the audio of the channel as normal, just don't get a channel picture for a couple of minutes.

Anybody have anything similar to this happen to them? Any idea what it could be?

Thanks
Chris
Raptro6L
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 January 2018

Post#2 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:56 am

Are you having slowdowns across the entire PC or just within WMC?
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#3 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:26 am

Replace the hard drive with a solid state drive.
Problem solved.
joelkirzner
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 22 May 2013

Post#4 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:34 pm

newfiend wrote:Are you having slowdowns across the entire PC or just within WMC?


The computer has been going for a couple of years now, just the usual slowing down over time. I have recorded tv network shares on my emby server. I thought it might have been related to that somehow, so I removed those connections. It still does it unfortunately.
Raptro6L
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 January 2018

Post#5 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:35 pm

joelkirzner wrote:Replace the hard drive with a solid state drive.
Problem solved.


Not the solution as it already has one.
Raptro6L
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 January 2018

Post#6 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:19 pm

I've just noticed it does it even if you exit WMC then re-enter it again. So I'm guessing it's an eHome thing that's causing this?
Raptro6L
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 January 2018

Post#7 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:51 am

Raptro6L wrote:I've just noticed it does it even if you exit WMC then re-enter it again. So I'm guessing it's an eHome thing that's causing this?
What brand TV Tuner are you using?
Have you opened a cmd prompt and run sfc /scannow ?
That will scan and repair any corrupt system files.
Have you scanned the recording drive to see if it's going bad or ran a utility to check for faulty memory?

newfiend.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#8 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:38 pm

newfiend wrote:What brand TV Tuner are you using?

2x Hauppauge and 1x Avermedia

newfiend wrote:Have you opened a cmd prompt and run sfc /scannow ?

Didn't know about that one. Running it now.

The ram is all good. One of the first things I checked.
Storage drive (also where the buffer is) is also good.

It only does it once, after that it's fine until WMC is exited for whatever reason.

Thanks
Chris
Raptro6L
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 11 January 2018

Post#9 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:02 am

Raptro6L wrote:
newfiend wrote:What brand TV Tuner are you using?

2x Hauppauge and 1x Avermedia

newfiend wrote:Have you opened a cmd prompt and run sfc /scannow ?

Didn't know about that one. Running it now.

The ram is all good. One of the first things I checked.
Storage drive (also where the buffer is) is also good.

It only does it once, after that it's fine until WMC is exited for whatever reason.

Thanks
Chris
Another place you can check is event viewer and see if there is anything reporting errors there when launching WMC.

If you hit Ctrl+Alt+Del you can also launch task manager and see if the cpu and or memory are getting unusually taxed at initial launch. Or if there is some process getting stuck?

I wish I could be more helpful but this has me a bit stumped.

You could additionally pull one tuner at a time and launch WMC. See if the problem goes away.. possible bad tuner?

What were the results of sfc /scannow?
newfiend

Sent from my SM-T820 using Tapatalk
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#10 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:59 pm

I could see a few seconds but, 2 min ? And If a live TV is playing you hear audio but, a frozen screen ?

Check video drivers, maybe roll back or update(WMC is not a big deal on newer drivers), update DirectX (WMC animations need DirectX and if it's not updated could have some funky affects)
User avatar
DavidinCT
 
Posts: 1155
Joined: 13 February 2012
5+ YrsTGB VeteranMicrosoft MVP
-Dave
Twitter @TheCoolDave

Windows Media Center certified and WMC MVP 2010 - 2012


Return to Windows 8 Media Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron