DVR multiple audio streams

Having trouble playing all your different media types? Ask here!
Dash323

HTPC Specs: Show details

DVR multiple audio streams

Post by Dash323 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:21 pm

Hello to all. I'm new to the WMC world and just got my Ceton card.

I DVR a documentary that's available in both English and Spanish. What I want to do is convert it to MP4 or any other file format so that I can send it to family and friends. Thing is my parents don't speak English and my friends don't speak Spanish, hence I'm in a conundrum. Is there anyway I can encode it so that it keeps both audio streams? I've seen it on some videos before so it should be possible but I just don't know how to do it. Something like how in VLC you can choose the audio track. Is there any way to do this from a WMC DVR file? I've Googled and can't find anything related to what I'm trying to do.

holidayboy

Post by holidayboy » Tue Jul 02, 2013 9:32 pm

I'm not sure but you might be able to get both audio tracks by using something like videoredo (paid for app), or even dvrmstoolbox (free).

You might need to run it twice - once for each track and then create an .mkv file with one video stream and two audio streams.

There are ways of manually dumping streams from a .wtv file using graphstudio but it can be tricky extracting the right audio track. It involved setting language preferences in wmc and wmp before running graphstudio with the dump.ax filter when I last did it. I'll try and find a link to the (really old) thread.

Of course, this all assumes that the recording can be edited (not copy protected).
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Dash323

Post by Dash323 » Tue Jul 02, 2013 10:20 pm

Thanks a lot for the incredibly quick reply! Fastest I've encountered on any forum. Normally I have to wait a day or two for the first one :P

How can I tell if its not copy protected? Also, is there a site that can show how to use DVRMST?