How to figure out what stream my security camera uses?

Having trouble playing all your different media types? Ask here!
woodchuck

HTPC Specs: Show details

How to figure out what stream my security camera uses?

Post by woodchuck » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:59 pm

I'd love to add the stream of my home security cameras(Swann) to my media center. I know that it had been possible to add videos that were streams, like NASA to media center in the past. The problem: My camera system does not advertise a direct way to access the stream from the camera. You have to use their ActiveX control to see the video. I know other cameras, like Panasonic, had an RTSP stream you could access that it used behind the scenes. Is there a way to "sniff" what address my camera -> activeX control is using? I'm trying to use wireshark, but can't seem to find anything pointing at a URL on the camera system. Admittedly, I'm a newb to packet sniffing.

foxwood

Post by foxwood » Tue Apr 16, 2013 1:50 am

barnabas1969

Post by barnabas1969 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:28 pm

/Referring to a spam post that was removed:

I love it when a new user comes along and resurrects a dead thread with his first post.

RyC

Post by RyC » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:40 pm

Well it's a spam bot! They're not intelligent :P

STC

Post by STC » Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:16 pm

Spammer removed thank you.

It was most probably a real person as the bots can't create an account without passing the humanoid test.
By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Want decent guide data back? Check out EPG123

blueiedgod

Post by blueiedgod » Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:15 pm

hrm, interesting idea. Is there a way to add a channel into WMC that would feed off Foscam?

We are using 2 of them as baby monitors, and usually just have a tablet or laptop running their app to keep an eye on the toddler and the baby.