A question about MKV

Having trouble playing all your different media types? Ask here!
barnabas1969

HTPC Specs: Show details

A question about MKV

Post by barnabas1969 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 9:30 pm

I have a problem. I've never used a filter or splitter before. I'm trying to make MKV work in Media Center, using ffdshow and Haali Media Splitter.

I installed ffdshow, Haali Media Splitter, and the registry patch for x64 (here). I used the default values in both ffdshow and Haali Media Splitter. I tried this first on my desktop PC, and I tried to play an MKV that has a h.264 video with DTS 5.1 audio. It worked fine. The video and audio played fine. I used the default settings for ffdshow and Haali Media Splitter.

I don't know if this makes any difference, but my desktop PC has a VGA computer monitor attached using the on-board ATI video, and has a 5.1 speaker setup connected using the analog audio connections that are on the motherboard.

On my desktop PC, this movie plays fine... audio and video are perfect. However, on my HTPC, this movie does not work... using the same software (ffdshow/Haali/registry patch). Both PC's run Windows 7 x64. As mentioned above, the desktop PC has on-board audio and video... VGA for video and analog for audio.

The HTPC, on the other hand, has an nVidea GT-430 video card with HDMI audio passed through an AVR to a TV. The AVR can decode Dolby Digital, DTS, DD-HD, and DTS-HD.

When I try to play the same MKV file on the HTPC, I get nothing but a blue screen with the media center background. Sometimes, I get a gray screen with black side bars. No audio plays either.

Oddly enough... Windows Media Player plays this MKV file perfectly on the HTPC (after installing Haali Media Splitter, ffdshow, and the registry patch). Before installing those... neither Media Center nor Media Player would play the file.