Codec problem?

Having trouble playing all your different media types? Ask here!

Codec problem?

Post#1 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:16 pm

I'm trying to play videos from this site: https://thedigitaltheater.com/index.php/dolby-trailers/ in WMC but the videos will not play. I'm on sharks advanced codecs, and the video plays fine in WMP. I downloaded a few different lossless seven channel videos but none of will play while everything else seems to play fine.
jachin99
 
Posts: 795
Joined: 24 February 2016

Post#2 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:26 pm

Go to the appropriate (64bit) TAB, (mkv tab for an mkv file) and choose to disable media foundation for that specific extension.

Mentioning what version of Windows would also be helpful.
Only the latest release works for mkv's on Windows less than 10 because I had that set to Windows 10 only and fixed that in the 10.0.2 release

For those not using LiveTV, choosing to disable the Microsoft Video decoder on the swap tab is a surefire way to get file playback working too.
Also, be aware, doing so envokes FFDshow for playback, so if you want LAV, you then need to go to the misc tab and disable FFDshow there.
User avatar
Shark007
 
Posts: 180
Joined: 7 February 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Retain your sanity, use Shark007 Codecs

Post#3 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:39 pm

Sorry bud, I'm on Windows 7, and I'm not prompted to download the newest version of your codecs. I had disable media foundation checked, and it did not work. I can recheck it, and send you some debug info if needed.
jachin99
 
Posts: 795
Joined: 24 February 2016

Post#4 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:54 pm

DO you disable UAC? If so, thats a huge issue.
The registry and your entire system no longer acts as expected and cause all sorts of issues that I cannot support.
Are you making changes in the 64bit App? Media Center is a 64bit player on most systems.

If UAC is enabled, open the 64bit App with Admin privileges, press [Reset All]
select the [x] SUGGESTED settings checkbox
Go to the MKV TAB and disable Media Fourdation for MKV specifically.
Next, go to the Audio TAB and make the correct output selection.

That should get LAV decoding mkv's in Media Center.

EDIT: re-enabling UAC does not correct the issue. The codecs need to be installed with UAC enabled.
User avatar
Shark007
 
Posts: 180
Joined: 7 February 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Retain your sanity, use Shark007 Codecs

Post#5 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 11:34 pm

UAC has always been active. I'm making changes in the 64 bit settings program ran as an administrator. I have media foundation disabled for movies but I will look in the audio tab as you suggested
jachin99
 
Posts: 795
Joined: 24 February 2016

Post#6 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:12 am

If you're still having problems, the only thing I can think of to cause your issues is if you have installed the Haali splitter.
It is just to old and cannot handle newer files.
User avatar
Shark007
 
Posts: 180
Joined: 7 February 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Retain your sanity, use Shark007 Codecs

Post#7 » Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:50 pm

I don't see haali splitter installed, and I have the codecs setup the way I like, and don't want to restore defaults. I found a way around playing this video so I'm not too concerned. Thanks for the help.
jachin99
 
Posts: 795
Joined: 24 February 2016

Post#8 » Sat Apr 28, 2018 3:39 am

Are these inluded in your codec pack? https://xiph.org/dshow/
They claim lossless audio support for WMC on this stie via these codecs https://sites.google.com/site/hack7mc/T ... dia-center

Even though I don't have any lossless files at the moment, i figured I would point you towards this in case it is helpful.
jachin99
 
Posts: 795
Joined: 24 February 2016

Post#9 » Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:47 am

jachin99 wrote:Are these inluded in your codec pack? https://xiph.org/dshow/
They claim lossless audio support for WMC on this stie via these codecs https://sites.google.com/site/hack7mc/T ... dia-center

Even though I don't have any lossless files at the moment, i figured I would point you towards this in case it is helpful.

These decoders are unnecessary because the LAV Filters (my packs are based on these) will handle all your lossless needs.
Adding them would just mean adding more clutter and confusion to your codec system.
User avatar
Shark007
 
Posts: 180
Joined: 7 February 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Retain your sanity, use Shark007 Codecs

Post#10 » Sun Apr 29, 2018 5:29 am

I used the suggested settings and my file played. Thanks for your help once again
jachin99
 
Posts: 795
Joined: 24 February 2016


Return to Codecs/Encoding



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron