Windows 8 Media Center Screenies

Windows 8 Media Center Screenies

Post#1 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 4:32 pm

I bumped into these during my hintonet trawling and thought they might be nice eye candy.
Good to see MC is still there, even though it seems to be a direct port of the existing verision. My W7MC version is 6.1x and the last image shows 6.2x but perhaps this is just to make it work under a Win8 shell.


Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
STC
 
Posts: 5243
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: Canadiana
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
TGB.tv

By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Post#2 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:43 pm

Ehhhhm the last screen says windows 7?
Fleadh
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 9 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#3 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 8:45 pm

Yes! Whacky, no?
They just haven't updated the info on that screen. It's certainly running on Windows 8.
User avatar
STC
 
Posts: 5243
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: Canadiana
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
TGB.tv

By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Post#4 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 9:32 pm

Hope this is nowhere near complete. I don't see Netflix :o
Dwight2001
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 26 July 2011

Post#5 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:04 am

I was kinda hoping mediacenter would get swallowed up in the "tiles" UI .... can't see much reason to upgrade tbh??
milli260876
 
Posts: 667
Joined: 8 June 2011
Location: Barnsley Sth Yorks
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
Lee

Post#6 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:23 am

Plus the last screen says Copyright 2009. That is probably the last time anything significant happended with Media Center.
kingwr
 
Posts: 411
Joined: 13 June 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#7 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:31 am

The software version number is interesting I guess - 6.2..... rather than 6.1.... for Win7

I haven't really looked at build numbers for Win8 yet - what's the latest build that people have spotted out in the wild?

It is weird that they left the 2009 date in there!
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#8 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:44 am

These are real images. These early Windows 8 builds are running on top of Windows 7 I.e the installer is the Windows 7 one.
User avatar
cw-kid
 
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: United Kingdom
5+ YrsTGB VeteranMicrosoft MVP

Post#9 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:48 am

Rob

For build numbers and which have been leaked look at the spreadsheet

https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreads ... 4dUE&hl=en
User avatar
cw-kid
 
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: United Kingdom
5+ YrsTGB VeteranMicrosoft MVP

Post#10 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:32 pm

Thanks Stuart, nice link :D
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#11 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:01 pm

The version numbers make sense to me now. I assumed they referred to the version of MC, not Windows.
User avatar
STC
 
Posts: 5243
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: Canadiana
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
TGB.tv

By the Community, for the Community. 100% Commercial Free.

Post#12 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:09 pm

stonethecrows wrote:The version numbers make sense to me now. I assumed they referred to the version of MC, not Windows.


7955 is the Windows 8 Build number
User avatar
cw-kid
 
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: United Kingdom
5+ YrsTGB VeteranMicrosoft MVP

Post#13 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:06 pm

I will be happy if some of the bugs get fixed.. like things hanging in "Now Playing" after my video finished playing on the main menu .. And how about some more codec support? FLAC and .MKV anyone?
newfiend~
User avatar
newfiend
 
Posts: 2128
Joined: 7 June 2011
Location: Earth
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#14 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:36 pm

S2 and t2 support nativly would be nice but my guess is they'll just throw it in to windows 8 as is without investing anything into it, like calculator and solitare
Fleadh
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 9 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#15 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:06 pm

Fleadh wrote:S2 and t2 support nativly would be nice but my guess is they'll just throw it in to windows 8 as is without investing anything into it, like calculator and solitare

+1
I'm a glass half-empty person.
gcoupe
 
Posts: 105
Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: The Netherlands
1+ YrsTGB Veteran
Geoff Coupe

Post#16 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:46 pm

OK, I must be dumb or something because I have no idea what you mean by S2 and t2 support. To me S2 is a sleep state...and t2 is....Terminator 2?
richard1980
 
Posts: 2409
Joined: 8 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
In the event that you are not able to find the information you are looking for on this website, try the Windows Experts Community.

Post#17 » Fri Jul 29, 2011 7:41 am

richard1980 wrote:OK, I must be dumb or something because I have no idea what you mean by S2 and t2 support. To me S2 is a sleep state...and t2 is....Terminator 2?


:D

It's OK Richard, it's that Atlantic divide rearing it's head again!

S2 = DVB-S2 (digital satellite TV broadcasts)
T2 = DVB-T2 (digital terrestrial TV broadcasts)
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#18 » Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:19 am

yep, they're the next gen terrestrial and satellite broadcasts. In the UK Channel 4 HD is S2 and lots of folk have problems recieving it.
Fleadh
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 9 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#19 » Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:28 pm

They discuss these screen shots on this podcast

http://thedigitalmediazone.com/2011/07/ ... windows-8/
User avatar
cw-kid
 
Posts: 699
Joined: 20 June 2011
Location: United Kingdom
5+ YrsTGB VeteranMicrosoft MVP

Post#20 » Sat Jul 30, 2011 1:12 am

holidayboy wrote:
richard1980 wrote:OK, I must be dumb or something because I have no idea what you mean by S2 and t2 support. To me S2 is a sleep state...and t2 is....Terminator 2?


:D

It's OK Richard, it's that Atlantic divide rearing it's head again!

S2 = DVB-S2 (digital satellite TV broadcasts)
T2 = DVB-T2 (digital terrestrial TV broadcasts)


Thanks for the explanation! Now I don't feel quite so stupid.
richard1980
 
Posts: 2409
Joined: 8 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
In the event that you are not able to find the information you are looking for on this website, try the Windows Experts Community.

Next

Return to Windows 8 Media Center



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron