Ceton Echo & Xbox cannot play H.264 protected content

For country-specific questions and topics regarding Media Center

Re: Ceton Echo & Xbox cannot play H.264 protected content

Post#381 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 6:53 pm

You are correct. The video card in the host has no bearing on the problem of extenders being unable to play protected h.264. This thread has a mix of problems discussed unfortunately. The Extender problem has no known solution. Inability to play protected h.264 on the hosts using Intel GPUs is what can be addressed by adding in a video card.
stuartm
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 5 November 2012
Location: Longmont, CO
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#382 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 3:55 pm

stuartm wrote:This thread has a mix of problems discussed unfortunately. The Extender problem has no known solution.


Yup, I looked, but saw no other thread explicitly tracking the extender problem. Yes many people have been discussing that here too.

Well, I have an extra video card now I guess.

I will still follow, since no matter what, HBO live is dead now and not working. (We just have to use hbogo to watch everything.)
jpstewart
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 3 January 2017

Post#383 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:18 pm

coolwhip wrote:This doesn't look like an EDID issue.

Plugging the xBox directly into the HDTV nets the same result. That is, H264 plays fine but H264 Protected Content (HBO) displays a black screen with normal audio. My Ceton Echo connects directly to a HDTV via HDMI and has the same problem with H264 Protected Content (HBO).

Indeed, I did have to create and install a driver inf file to override the EDID on the HTPC when I got the receiver a few years ago.


I can now see something when viewing HBO HD on my extenders (xbox 360's). It is h.264 protected. Audio is perfect, but the picture is frozen and if I wait, I can sometimes get a few seconds of perfect audio/video sync, but then it freezes again. This is an improvement over just black screen. Actually, can you check to see if that happens on your setup as well? Thanks!
soapdishbandit
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 30 March 2014
Location: Derby, CT
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#384 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 12:52 am

I'm only running Primes with Win7 WMC, Intel 3000 graphics in laptops, Boston Comcast.

I'm experiencing no problems. Had seen some pixelation, vertical colored lines, even random black screens when going from protected to normal. But now everything seems to be back to normal. Perhaps Comcast got their act together and removed their "tweeks" for the changeover. I may just get away with leaving my perfectly working system alone!

Perhaps your improving situation is related?
artm
 
Posts: 63
Joined: 4 August 2015
-------------------------------
-Art
Win7 Ultimate SP1 x64 (NO UPDATES!), HP 4420S i5, HDHomerun Prime

Post#385 » Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:58 pm

Joining the "same here" group - Albuquerque Comcast. I'm only watching through extenders, and certain channels are displaying the mostly black screen with occasional frame updates (but with fine audio).

The channel footprint seems to be small so far, but - with young kids - the Disney Jr channel is a problem! I don't have HBO.

I'm hoping that the few comments in this thread regarding it eventually returning to working state (Comcast tweaking) end up occurring. Otherwise, as more channels do this I'm likely to finally abandon WMC.
dabretty
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 19 February 2013

Post#386 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 8:15 pm

soapdishbandit wrote:
coolwhip wrote:This doesn't look like an EDID issue.

Plugging the xBox directly into the HDTV nets the same result. That is, H264 plays fine but H264 Protected Content (HBO) displays a black screen with normal audio. My Ceton Echo connects directly to a HDTV via HDMI and has the same problem with H264 Protected Content (HBO).

Indeed, I did have to create and install a driver inf file to override the EDID on the HTPC when I got the receiver a few years ago.


I can now see something when viewing HBO HD on my extenders (xbox 360's). It is h.264 protected. Audio is perfect, but the picture is frozen and if I wait, I can sometimes get a few seconds of perfect audio/video sync, but then it freezes again. This is an improvement over just black screen. Actually, can you check to see if that happens on your setup as well? Thanks!


On your HTPC itself are you running a video card or just native Intel HD 2000-4000? Are you getting protected content on HBO and other HD Premiums or sound only?
sgbroimp
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 21 November 2016

Post#387 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:31 pm

I live in Denver, CO and have Comcast. Thus far, only my HD premium channels are affected by my extenders (Xbox 360s). SD premium channels appear to be unaffected, although, I do seem to be able to view Showtime HD without any issues. One thing that I was gonna try is ensuring that I am running the latest firmware for the 360s, has anyone else tried this? If so, any improvements?

EDIT: On my HTPC, playback is fine, running a AMD X3 with Nvidia GeForce GTX 750 Ti.
BigNamek
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 January 2017

Post#388 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:45 pm

I've got a Linksys extender with the same issue. Frustrating. Comcast Houston. But mine seems to be more widespread. Not just premium channels, simple stuff such as HGTV etc.!
There is a patch for Xbox 360 Elite that allows it to play H.264 content. I installed it on both of my Xboxes, but the one I need it to work on after I install it, it works for a bit then goes back to saying it needs to install the patch. Also frustrating!!
newfiend suggested a complete Xbox reset. I haven't tried the complete reset yet.
If you go to the Xbox marketplace and purchase (for free) the Optional Media Update, this will fix H.264 content on Xbox. But like I said, one Xbox is being belligerent!!
User avatar
mmatheny
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 15 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
Mike

Post#389 » Fri Jan 13, 2017 3:34 pm

soapdishbandit wrote:
coolwhip wrote:This doesn't look like an EDID issue.

Plugging the xBox directly into the HDTV nets the same result. That is, H264 plays fine but H264 Protected Content (HBO) displays a black screen with normal audio. My Ceton Echo connects directly to a HDTV via HDMI and has the same problem with H264 Protected Content (HBO).

Indeed, I did have to create and install a driver inf file to override the EDID on the HTPC when I got the receiver a few years ago.


I can now see something when viewing HBO HD on my extenders (xbox 360's). It is h.264 protected. Audio is perfect, but the picture is frozen and if I wait, I can sometimes get a few seconds of perfect audio/video sync, but then it freezes again. This is an improvement over just black screen. Actually, can you check to see if that happens on your setup as well? Thanks!

Yes, that is what happens here too. xBox 360 plays a few seconds then freezes and Ceton either has black screen or pixelated video depending on the channel that was active before switching to a premium channel. Audio and close captioning work fine.
coolwhip
 
Posts: 51
Joined: 24 October 2015

Post#390 » Sun Jan 15, 2017 10:20 pm

mmatheny wrote:If you go to the Xbox marketplace and purchase (for free) the Optional Media Update, this will fix H.264 content on Xbox. But like I said, one Xbox is being belligerent!!


I also run multiple xbox 360s and have run into that issue before. It turns out the media update that allows H.264 (non-DRM) content is itself DRMed like a downloadable game. It doesn't work if the account that downloaded the update is not signed in at the time, unless it's the account's one "home xbox" 360. I fixed this by creating new accounts with fake names for each xbox so they can all be the "home xbox" for a user that has downloaded the patch and therefore use it without anyone signed in.
Cory98122
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 26 December 2013

Post#391 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:10 am

I've now gotten caught in the Comcast conversion to MPEG-4 / H.264 for protected content and both of my D-Link DSM-750 WMC extenders show "Video cannot be displayed" for most of the channels that I watch. So I can watch anything on my Win7 PC in my office, but not on my home theater via my extender.

I'm confused as to whether buying an Xbox could be a solution as an extender. Can any of you provide a clear answer?

If not, I guess I have no choice but to move beyond WMC. Should that be TiVo, Xfininity X1 or what?
whowasat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 10 December 2011

Post#392 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 3:21 am

whowasat wrote:I've now gotten caught in the Comcast conversion to MPEG-4 / H.264 for protected content and both of my D-Link DSM-750 WMC extenders show "Video cannot be displayed" for most of the channels that I watch. So I can watch anything on my Win7 PC in my office, but not on my home theater via my extender.

I'm confused as to whether buying an Xbox could be a solution as an extender. Can any of you provide a clear answer?

If not, I guess I have no choice but to move beyond WMC. Should that be TiVo, Xfininity X1 or what?


To my knowledge, only Xbox 360's and Ceton Echo's can decode h.264. Unfortunately, the D-Link extenders won't work with the new h.264 content.

My 3 360 extenders work great! Now with the h.264 change, I have the issue with HBO HD (DRM protected), but everything else works great!
soapdishbandit
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 30 March 2014
Location: Derby, CT
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#393 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 8:06 pm

I had a few Linksys DMA2100 extenders that stopped working for most channels when Comcast transitioned to H.264 in my area. After switching them all out for xbox 360s and installing the media update others have talked about they work great for everything but HBO and other premium movie channels. I've removed those from the guide and just use HBO Go and others apps on the 360 to access content for those channels. I now much prefer the 360 because I can access streaming video through the same source as Media Center.
MpTrumbore
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 18 September 2016

Previous

Return to International Issues



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron