Pixelation on ITV1 HD (DVBS2)

For country-specific questions and topics regarding Media Center

Pixelation on ITV1 HD (DVBS2)

Post#1 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 8:51 am

Hi,

is anyone else getting any pixelation on the above channel recently? Not sure if they've changed the codecs etc, but probably every 15-30sec, we're getting a lot of tearing/pixelation occurring, so much so, that we can't record from that channel anymore. Live tv is affected too :cry:


Thanks
Tony
User avatar
tony_park
 
Posts: 261
Joined: 10 June 2011
Location: South Yorkshire
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#2 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:02 am

I've watched a bit of ITV1 HD this weekend and did not have any problems.

I use dreambox 500 HD -> DVBLink -> MCE for what its worth.
wally007
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 24 August 2012

Post#3 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 11:32 am

Hi Wally,

which tuners are you using in your HTPC? If TBS ones, which drivers have you got installed for them?


Thanks
Tony
User avatar
tony_park
 
Posts: 261
Joined: 10 June 2011
Location: South Yorkshire
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#4 » Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:05 am

Hi Tony,

I just fired up 7MC for a test and I'm not seeing any issues on ITV1 HD.

TBS6985 driver: 1.0.0.5
TBS6280 driver: 1.0.1.2

I put my old TBS6981 and TBS6982 cards in a test box and didn't see any issues either.

Maybe upload a sample clip and see if anybody can reproduce the effect?
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#5 » Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:06 am

Silly idea:

Have you tried tuning to a different ITV1 HD region just for a laugh?
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#6 » Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:36 am

I just compared an ITV1 HD recording from yesterday against a recent BBC1 HD one and there don't seem to be any major differences.

I don't really know much about it tho! :?

TV file details.zip
(2.22 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
User avatar
holidayboy
 
Posts: 2440
Joined: 5 June 2011
Location: Northants, UK
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

Post#7 » Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:16 am

hi Tony, im using Dreambox as my tuner. (and sky uk decoder but thats not important right now)
wally007
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 24 August 2012

Post#8 » Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:20 pm

Hi guys

Thanks for checking this out for me. Turns out that when I try out itv1hd for Granada, which is is probably our closest option, seems to be working fine. Looks like it was just a problem for us, using central version. So far, so good, but will have to check out the downtown recording from last night, we recorded both SD and HD versions just in case, since it's one of the wife's fave shows.
THX for checking [CHRISTMAS TREE]
User avatar
tony_park
 
Posts: 261
Joined: 10 June 2011
Location: South Yorkshire
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran


Return to International Issues



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron