Setting up a Media Centre/Server for multiple TVs

For country-specific questions and topics regarding Media Center
OllyN

HTPC Specs: Show details

Setting up a Media Centre/Server for multiple TVs

Post by OllyN » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:03 pm

Hi Everyone,

I need some advice please. I have been using Windows Media Centre for about 7 years with a single TV in the lounge. We are moving to a bigger house where we want to be able to have full WMC functionality on 3 TV's in our new home. We would also like to have a single media server where everything is recorded to/stored and accessed from any TV but the TV's must be able to act independently. So we will be able to watch/record/pause etc different channels in different rooms but if we record something in one room it is available to be watched in another for example.

Can anyone recommend the best ways to achieve this setup? (We will have a CAT6 wired network in place and a plant room for servers/switches as required. I am based in the UK.)

Thank you

Olly

tletourneau

Post by tletourneau » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:11 pm

You will probably want to use extenders with gigabit networking. I can not speak to the region but I have had good luck with Xbox 360's in extender mode. I have them set to boot into extender mode.
Thanks,
Tom

OllyN

Post by OllyN » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:23 pm

Thanks for the reply.

If I use extenders can I use each TV independently with all TV coming through a central Media Centre? If so which Extenders are the best to use? I don't want to use Xbox 360's due to noise and size (they are big and ugly IMO)

I read that MWC can support 5 extenders simultaneously but will that allow 5 different channels to be watched/recorded/paused etc at the same time?

Thank you

Olly

adam1991

Post by adam1991 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 7:56 pm

XBox 360, the current model, is not noisy at all.