Changes to iPlayer downloads

For country-specific questions and topics regarding Media Center
mark1234

HTPC Specs: Show details

Changes to iPlayer downloads

Post by mark1234 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:07 pm

The BBC have announced the end of wmv downloads from iPlayer. They've also replaced their old Adobe Air download tool with something new.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/internet/pos ... -Downloads

I'm guessing this means the end of the iPlayer plugin I've been using for several years, as it streams the wmv files. Though I've not had a phone call from home yet to say Cbeebies content isn't playing.

I never wanted to install Flash onto my 7MC machine, so haven't used TunerFreeMCE. Does it still work? Are there any alternatives that will work within 7MC? Is there a TV & remote friendly version of the iPlayer website?
Windows Media Centre - Abandoned by Microsoft

mark1234

Post by mark1234 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:29 pm

There is a big screen version of iPlayer: http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/bigscreen/

Think I'm going to have to try getting a browser shortcut setup.

Any thoughts on whether it's best to install Flash and use IE or install Chrome which has Flash built in?

--EDIT--

Regardless, it looks like iPlayer on the extender is going to be just a distant memory now.

holidayboy

Post by holidayboy » Fri Sep 27, 2013 4:06 pm

I use tunerfreemce and find works well Mark, worth a try at least....
Rob.

TGB.tv - the one stop shop for the more discerning Media Center user.

mark1234

Post by mark1234 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:07 pm

I've tried a couple of shows and they are still playing through the plugin, even without a download option being available on the website. I realise this is only going to be temporary.

mrphil

Post by mrphil » Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:42 pm