Judder/Stutter on BBC1 & 2 HD via DVB-S2

For country-specific questions and topics regarding Media Center

Re: Judder/Stutter on BBC1 & 2 HD via DVB-S2

Post#61 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 9:49 am

wavemachine wrote:So from this I deduce that swapping to an HD6450 will fix these juddering issues, presumably this card will have sufficient power to use Total Media Theatre for my Blu-Ray playback?


I'm using an HD6450 on a DVB-T2 (Freeview HD) platform and the juddering is no longer discernable, plus I use TMT5 to play blu-rays at 1080p24 without problems (and my CPU Is only an E8250 Core 2 Duo). But there can be many other variables between HTPC's so your mileage may vary.

Having said that, you can pick up a new fanless HD6450 with 1Gb DDR3 for less than £30, so it may be worth a punt anyway.

HTH
Pixelz
 
Posts: 99
Joined: 10 June 2011
Location: UK
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#62 » Mon Aug 12, 2013 5:25 pm

wavemachine wrote:Currently I have an NVidia GPU, originally had an ATI but there were issues a few years back with ATI and BBC HD :(

So from this I deduce that swapping to an HD6450 will fix these juddering issues, presumably this card will have sufficient power to use Total Media Theatre for my Blu-Ray playback?

I nearly reverted to Media Portal which I used a few years back but never got on with and my family hated that.

Yes, I have tested an HD6450, and it was able to play Bluray movies using TMT5. It also worked successfully with content that was known to have the 29/59 frame rate issue.

My nVidia GT-430 also works successfully with both Bluray in TMT5 and with the 29/59 issue.
barnabas1969
 
Posts: 5738
Joined: 21 June 2011
Location: Titusville, Florida, USA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#63 » Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:53 pm

Has anyone tried Haswell's HD4600 and whther it fixes this BBC HD issues ?
wally007
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 24 August 2012

Post#64 » Tue Nov 19, 2013 8:47 pm

I have an AMD H7 240 passive GPU and have been getting the stutter as well. The current AMD drivers are still beta, so I thought it was that. I installed win7dsfiltertweaker (I am already using the shark007 codec pack) and disabled the Microsoft DTV driver and voila! No stuttering. Have watched the F1 USA highlights and no problems.
skutterbob
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 November 2013

Post#65 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:46 pm

Yea but with Microsoft DTV codec disabled, you dont get thumbnails... correct ? That wouldnt fly at our house , unfortunately.

skutterbob wrote:I have an AMD H7 240 passive GPU and have been getting the stutter as well. The current AMD drivers are still beta, so I thought it was that. I installed win7dsfiltertweaker (I am already using the shark007 codec pack) and disabled the Microsoft DTV driver and voila! No stuttering. Have watched the F1 USA highlights and no problems.
wally007
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 24 August 2012

Post#66 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:55 pm

True, but as the thumbnails look tiny on my 40" TV, I'm not really bothered.
skutterbob
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 November 2013

Post#67 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 1:25 pm

I have realised that I have made a mistake - shark007 codecs have the win7dsfiltertweaker built in already. It also has a system to create thumbnails - have a look at 'setup and usage' on their website. Will try it all this evening as the wife is out!

www.shark007.net

Install the advanced pack 32-bit, then install the advanced 64-bit as well if you are running a 64-bit system. I can play MKV's taken from my Bluray films with DTS Master audio and Dolby Digital HD all over HDMI to my amp using this codec pack in MCE.
skutterbob
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 November 2013

Post#68 » Sat Nov 23, 2013 8:18 pm

So you're saying you get thumbs in "Recorded TV" while NOT using Microsofts codec ? That sounds too good to be true :-)

I'd try but I cant afford to mess up HTPC (only Windows machine in the house), my gf would not be happy.

skutterbob wrote:I have realised that I have made a mistake - shark007 codecs have the win7dsfiltertweaker built in already. It also has a system to create thumbnails - have a look at 'setup and usage' on their website. Will try it all this evening as the wife is out!

http://www.shark007.net

Install the advanced pack 32-bit, then install the advanced 64-bit as well if you are running a 64-bit system. I can play MKV's taken from my Bluray films with DTS Master audio and Dolby Digital HD all over HDMI to my amp using this codec pack in MCE.
wally007
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 24 August 2012

Post#69 » Sun Nov 24, 2013 10:15 pm

Guys, I think BBC has fixed the issue with their encoder. I've watched F1 quali and race this weekend (GP Brasil) on BBC 1 HD and it was completely stutter-free.

( and no i did not change decoder or gfx or drivers )
wally007
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 24 August 2012

Post#70 » Sun Nov 24, 2013 11:22 pm

Agree it seems to be fixed. Watched stutter free F1 today and watching stutter free Match of the Day 2 at the moment.

Here's hoping this is a permanent fix!
jamesp26
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 January 2013

Previous

Return to International Issues



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron