Goodbye WMC, it's been a long ride

Chat with other TGB members about whatever is on your mind.

Re: Goodbye WMC, it's been a long ride

Post#21 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 9:42 am

cwinfield wrote:how much will you part with the echos for?
Do you need a couple more for the museum? How about a couple DMA2200's?
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#22 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:17 pm

Crash2009 wrote:
cwinfield wrote:how much will you part with the echos for?
Do you need a couple more for the museum? How about a couple DMA2200's?

How much were you thinking for the dma's?
dkrom
 
Posts: 184
Joined: 17 November 2014

Post#23 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:00 pm

tzr916 wrote:but I am staying on cable card and made the switch to JRiver MC. Just can't live without 9 tuners and Terabytes of storage.

I am still using cablecard as well. How do you do streaming media with your setup?
3rob3
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 28 August 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#24 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:05 pm

cwinfield wrote:how much will you part with the echos for?

Tried to PM you but just sitting in my OUTBOX. Is your inbox full or you not taking PM's? Or?
tzr916
 
Posts: 445
Joined: 28 May 2013
Location: Stockton CA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#25 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:07 pm

3rob3 wrote:
tzr916 wrote:but I am staying on cable card and made the switch to JRiver MC. Just can't live without 9 tuners and Terabytes of storage.

I am still using cablecard as well. How do you do streaming media with your setup?


I LOATH streaming media. If I was forced to use any such service it would have to be one that does UHD and Atmos.
tzr916
 
Posts: 445
Joined: 28 May 2013
Location: Stockton CA
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#26 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:15 pm

Thought I'd throw up some screenshots of my Kodi setup. As mentioned, the Movies and TV Shows menu items come from Emby. The background artwork when your are on those menu items gets automatically generated by Kodi based on your Media (and cycles every 10 seconds or so). Something else I forgot to mention....we really loved the photo slideshow screensaver built into WMC. It's about the only time we get to look at old pictures. Anyway, Android TV has a feature called Daydream, and different apps can plug in to it. I found a free app that will enable daydream to display photos from my Google Photos account (which I back up to anyway). Works just as well! On to the screenshots:
TV Shows (Emby):
Image
Live TV Channels:
Image
Live TV Guide:
Image
Live TV Menu:
Image
3rob3
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 28 August 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#27 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:07 pm

dkrom wrote:
Crash2009 wrote:
cwinfield wrote:how much will you part with the echos for?
Do you need a couple more for the museum? How about a couple DMA2200's?

How much were you thinking for the dma's?


dma stock just went way down. viewtopic.php?p=101152&f=6#p101152
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#28 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:10 pm

That looks just like XBMC
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#29 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:43 pm

Crash2009 wrote:That looks just like XBMC

Not sure if you were joking, but Kodi is (was) XBMC.

tzr916 wrote:I LOATH streaming media. If I was forced to use any such service it would have to be one that does UHD and Atmos.

That makes no sense. Currently the ONLY way to get UHD is via streaming (which the Shield TV is capable of).
3rob3
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 28 August 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#30 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:04 pm

3rob3 wrote:
Crash2009 wrote:That looks just like XBMC

Not sure if you were joking, but Kodi is (was) XBMC.

I never tried Kodi, this is the first time I saw what it looks like. Looks like MCL is working or is Kodi making the logo's?
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#31 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:09 pm

MCL only works on WMC.
mdavej
 
Posts: 1457
Joined: 20 August 2012

Post#32 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:13 pm

mdavej wrote:MCL only works on WMC.
I think he said WMC is the back end, looks like MCL logo's. I was just wondering if the logo's originate from WMC or if Kodi goes and gets its own?
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#33 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:59 pm

ServerWMC passes any logos on to Kodi. So they do originate from MCL. Other backends do the same if you provided logos to the backend.
3rob3
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 28 August 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#34 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 7:02 pm

Looks really nice Rob, and the Shield appears to be worth looking in to. Any similarities/Differences between Shield and XboxOne?
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#35 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 7:15 pm

I have never seen or used an Xbox One, but have heard they were kinda slow (just what I remember reading, may have been fixed by now). If you are not dealing with copy once content I HIGHLY recommend switching to Shield TV(s). They really are great. I still have an Xbox 360 extender in the basement, and can't wait to switch it out to another Android TV device. The interface in WMC and the dashboard apps are just painfully slow after getting used to the Shield.

If anyone is interested in more screenshots just let me know what you'd like to see.
3rob3
 
Posts: 543
Joined: 28 August 2011
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#36 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:07 pm

Shield should be a bit faster with apps than the Xbox One (not really too bad though for the Xbox). However, Xbox One has a BR player built in. Although, I still have not heard (and haven't really looked into it as I don't own one, thus don't care too much) if that means Cinavia is enabled across all Xbox One apps, only system apps (i.e. the DLNA player, but not Plex) or only the BR player app.

Xbox One also uses more power than the SHIELD, and the SHIELD should be quieter as well.
Ed 
 
Posts: 769
Joined: 24 May 2014
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#37 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:15 pm

Ed  wrote:Shield should be a bit faster with apps than the Xbox One (not really too bad though for the Xbox). However, Xbox One has a BR player built in. Although, I still have not heard (and haven't really looked into it as I don't own one thus don't care too much) if that means Cinavia is enabled across all Xbox One apps, only system apps (i.e. the DLNA player, but not Plex) or only the BR player app.

Xbox One also uses more power than the SHIELD, and the SHIELD should be quieter as well.


I'm looking to try out a shield... anybody have experience with the new fire tv with HDHR View app as far as performance? Both Fire TV and shield play protected content.
cwinfield
 
Posts: 414
Joined: 12 February 2013
Location: Monroe, NC
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#38 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 10:23 pm

I'm not a fan of the FIre TV from what I've heard/read. People complain about the interface, it only has HDMI 1.4 thus can only do 4k @30 and no HDR (for in the future - while the SHIELD has HDMI 2.0 and can be FW upgraded to 2.0a according to Nvidia) and I've heard of performance problems (and the SHIELD is def fast no matter what). People basically only go with the FTV if they're tethered to Amazon Prime Video. I can't speak to/recall anything about how HDHR View performs on the Fire TV; I know it works - but not how well.
Ed 
 
Posts: 769
Joined: 24 May 2014
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#39 » Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:05 pm

Ed  wrote:I'm not a fan of the FIre TV from what I've heard/read. People complain about the interface, it only has HDMI 1.4 thus can only do 4k @30 and no HDR (for in the future - while the SHIELD has HDMI 2.0 and can be FW upgraded to 2.0a according to Nvidia) and I've heard of performance problems (and the SHIELD is def fast no matter what). People basically only go with the FTV if they're tethered to Amazon Prime Video. I can't speak to/recall anything about how HDHR View performs on the Fire TV; I know it works - but not how well.

Using the official HDHomerun View app, the FireTV can play SD channels and copy-protected channels. HD channels stutter. Using the InstaTV app ($14.99), the FireTV can play HD channels fine, but not copy-protected channels. You can't win :thumbdown:

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/viewtopic.php?p=91391#p91391
User avatar
Scallica
 
Posts: 2362
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: USA!
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Post#40 » Sun Jan 31, 2016 8:04 pm

I'm about ready to join the "Dark Side" after reading this.....

There is a pdf inside there...
Attachments
ProtectingLiveTVServicesWithPlayReady_March2015.rar
(747.85 KiB) Downloaded 37 times
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 3937
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

PreviousNext

Return to The Green Button Lounge



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron