Silicondust DVR - protected content works w/RECORDED TV yet?

Chat with other TGB members about whatever is on your mind.

Re: Silicondust DVR - protected content works w/RECORDED TV

Post#21 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:55 am

Apologies to all. I finally had the time to read all of the replies above. This one stuck-out in particular:

adam1991 wrote:Yes, that feature has been "coming soon" for quite some time now. They've promised it since day 1, and used that as a level for the initial crowdfunding--but have yet to follow through. I think many crowdfunders have a bitter taste in their mouths as a result.


The lack of the ability to record copy-protected channels has certainly left a "bitter taste" in my mouth. That's the reason for my first question here.
john321
 
Posts: 39
Joined: 23 January 2016

Post#22 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 5:56 am

Recording protected content was always going to be sketchy on the SD DVR. When they first announced the DVR, I was surprised that they were going to try to implement the recording of protect content because I was aware of others who investigated it and said it was extremely difficult and knew that was why no one other than TiVo and Microsoft had any third-party products that could do so.

If you look at the original Kickstarter that announced the DVR, you can even see this section:
Risks and challenges

Silicondust is required to comply with industry-required protection rules when recording and playing back protected content. It may not be possible to support protected content on all platforms. In the extreme case playing back of protected content may be have to be disabled or discontinued on a specific platform if found not to be secure.

So they had some idea that protected content was not going to be easy, but I suspect they underestimated how difficult it was going to be dealing with the powers that be (political issues regarding the recording of protected content).

So even if they do one day clear the hurdle of recording protected content, be prepared for the likely situation that it will have limited platform support.
Space
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#23 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 10:49 am

john321 wrote:And... you all have done exactly what I asked you NOT to do!


I don't think I'm sure anyone is obligated to honor your lecturing in your initial post.

And for the record, "we all" did NOT do "exactly" what you dared ask us to do. We actually answered your question (despite no one have any obligation to respond to your ranting lecture).

@adam1991: I have been using WMC longer than you have, even though my current username on this site might suggest otherwise. I remember when you joined this site.


You mean, a few days after it was created, after the old MS site got ruined? Yes.


Also, I've been administering Windows systems since Windows 1.0. Based on your username, you probably weren't even born yet when Windows 1.0 was released. I've forgotten more about Windows than you probably know.


I get that sentiment now and again, but believe me, if you are making assumptions on my date of birth based on my user name, you are proving the old saw about what happens when you ASS-U-ME things.

And you continue with ASS-U-Ming that no one else can know things you know. Interesting concept for a forum.


Please don't lecture me.


Dude, chill out. Really.

The rest of this forum might say, please don't come in here with your list of demands in the manner in which you did so. Don't lecture US.

@jec6613: I don't install ANYTHING on this PC. It is my dedicated WMC machine. I don't even allow Windows Update to run on this PC.


Huh. Same here. And you know what? It's been running with no slowdowns for...over 6.5 years now.

For the rest of you, I received confirmation from Silicondust that their DVR software still cannot record copy-protected shows!


Of course, you didn't have to bother the nice folks at Silicon Dust...because confirmation of what you insist the rest of us tell you in a certain manner is right up on their web site. Has been since the DVR project began. Did you go there before you came here demanding things of the world in your certain way?

https://www.silicondust.com/dvr-service/

What part of

*DRM protected Cable TV channels in the USA are available to be viewed Live via Windows 10 devices. Record, playback and other platforms coming soon.


didn't you understand?

Your attitude coming in here like that is fascinating, given that the manufacturer already did EXACTLY what you wanted in EXACTLY the format you wanted it.

Again: please don't come in here and lecture us, either at the beginning of a thread like you did or throughout it.
adam1991
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: 11 June 2011

Post#24 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:48 am

john321 wrote:
Space wrote:It can replace a cable box so you don't have a monthly fee?

Most non-cable company provided DVRs can not record copy-protected content. The only ones I know of that can are TiVo and WMC.

Not everyone needs a DVR that can record copy-protected content (for instance those that record from OTA).

Well, unfortunately, I am on Comcast... and I need to be able to record copy-protected content. WMC is working well for me, but WMC will not continue to work forever. The Silicondust so-called "DVR" was supposed to be able to record copy-protected content... but it cannot do that right now. I am very disappointed in Silicondust.


This is consumer software. It doesn't exist until it exists.

It seems like your problem is that you heard a marketing spiel for consumer software--"buy into our DVR! We're even going to have it record DRM shows!"--and internalized it and believed it. And here it is a year later and you're still hanging onto it.

You own your disappointment. This is really not Silicon Dust's problem.

Stop believing fairy tales.
adam1991
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: 11 June 2011

Post#25 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:04 am

Silicon Dust has announced other products that never materialized at all.

What happened to the 6-tuner HD Homerun Prime (6 tuners with a single cable card) or the 4 tuner trans-coding Prime model?

I delayed my migration to WMC (from ReplayTV) for a long time waiting for one of these to appear. Fortunately, I eventually decided to get the regular 3-tuner Prime when it went on sale and sell it when they released the newer models. That was years ago and I'm still waiting...

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=6781
Space
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#26 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:18 am

They JUST got around to releasing a 4 tuner OTA piece. Works well, but...the world has had 6 tuner cableCARD systems for a long time now. The cards are all set up to handle 6 streams. None of this is news.
adam1991
 
Posts: 2457
Joined: 11 June 2011

Post#27 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:26 am

I was specifically waiting for the SilconDust 6-tuner CableCard device based on the reputation of the product support and reliability. Ceton had a 6-tuner device available, but there were many reports of problems with it. I think I made the correct decision.

I was not aware of any other 6-tuner CableCard devices that could be used with WMC, but I still think I would have gone with SD due to the reliability and support.
Space
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: 2 June 2013

Post#28 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:09 am

john321 wrote:
Space wrote:It can replace a cable box so you don't have a monthly fee?

Most non-cable company provided DVRs can not record copy-protected content. The only ones I know of that can are TiVo and WMC.

Not everyone needs a DVR that can record copy-protected content (for instance those that record from OTA).

Well, unfortunately, I am on Comcast... and I need to be able to record copy-protected content. WMC is working well for me, but WMC will not continue to work forever. The Silicondust so-called "DVR" was supposed to be able to record copy-protected content... but it cannot do that right now. I am very disappointed in Silicondust.

The definitive answer has been well documented public knowledge for a very long time. It's all over the SD forums and this forum.

Watch the CEO of SD explain in detail why they currently don't and might never record DRM channels with their software, already alluded to in the first few posts. If you were CEO of SD, you'd probably do exactly the same thing.

https://youtu.be/fFiIcXeKdf0

FWIW, Tivo works great, and a lifetime box costs about the same as a cheap WMC/SD setup. It's actually better in many ways since there's no Windows software to maintain, you get an extra tuner (or 3 extra tuners), integrated streaming apps that actually work with a Remote, unified search across apps and cable/ota channels, decent online streaming from your DVR to phone/tablet/roku/fireTV, really well done whole home DVR sharing and cheap/reliable client boxes, very good commercial skip, low power consumption, qwerty RF remote, the list goes on.

If you like to tinker, stick with WMC. If you'd rather just watch TV, get a Tivo.
mdavej
 
Posts: 1459
Joined: 20 August 2012

Post#29 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 3:05 pm

mdavej wrote:
john321 wrote:
Space wrote:It can replace a cable box so you don't have a monthly fee?

Most non-cable company provided DVRs can not record copy-protected content. The only ones I know of that can are TiVo and WMC.

Not everyone needs a DVR that can record copy-protected content (for instance those that record from OTA).

Well, unfortunately, I am on Comcast... and I need to be able to record copy-protected content. WMC is working well for me, but WMC will not continue to work forever. The Silicondust so-called "DVR" was supposed to be able to record copy-protected content... but it cannot do that right now. I am very disappointed in Silicondust.

The definitive answer has been well documented public knowledge for a very long time. It's all over the SD forums and this forum.

Watch the CEO of SD explain in detail why they currently don't and might never record DRM channels with their software, already alluded to in the first few posts. If you were CEO of SD, you'd probably do exactly the same thing.

https://youtu.be/fFiIcXeKdf0

FWIW, Tivo works great, and a lifetime box costs about the same as a cheap WMC/SD setup. It's actually better in many ways since there's no Windows software to maintain, you get an extra tuner (or 3 extra tuners), integrated streaming apps that actually work with a Remote, unified search across apps and cable/ota channels, decent online streaming from your DVR to phone/tablet/roku/fireTV, really well done whole home DVR sharing and cheap/reliable client boxes, very good commercial skip, low power consumption, qwerty RF remote, the list goes on.

If you like to tinker, stick with WMC. If you'd rather just watch TV, get a Tivo.


Can you recommend which cablecard tivo devices will allow me to view drm channels?
vdd1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 3 December 2017

Post#30 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:24 pm

vdd1 wrote:
mdavej wrote:
If you like to tinker, stick with WMC. If you'd rather just watch TV, get a Tivo.


Can you recommend which cablecard tivo devices will allow me to view drm channels?

All CableCard Tivo devices support DRM channels.

However, this thread going a bit off topic. Start a new thread for Tivo talk.
User avatar
Scallica
 
Posts: 2410
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: USA!
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Post#31 » Sat Dec 09, 2017 3:25 pm

I see everyone still getting along...
toshfive
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 December 2011

Previous

Return to The Green Button Lounge



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest

cron