Comcast H264 channels moving to 720?

For questions regarding Co-ax wiring, and to complain about your cable co.

Comcast H264 channels moving to 720?

Post#1 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:15 am

So is this right? All the channels I've found that have moved to MPEG4/H.264, according to 411info, show a native size of 1280x720. Is anyone else seeing or aware of Comcast reducing the resolution of channels along with this conversion? I swear before conversion the channels I've looked at were 1080...

Or is this some issue in WMC? If they're really decreasing resolution, this seems like a huge service issue...
webminster
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan

Post#2 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:30 am

Yep, Comcast is doing this intentionally. See these threads: http://www.tivocommunity.com/community/ ... 0p.542203/

https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29813023-Video-MPEG-4 (towards the end)
RyC
 
Posts: 605
Joined: 21 August 2012

Post#3 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 5:48 am

Thanks for those refs. I feel taken advantage of... again.
webminster
 
Posts: 595
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan


Return to Cable Systems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron