For Comcast users that have H.264

For questions regarding Co-ax wiring, and to complain about your cable co.

For Comcast users that have H.264

Post#1 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 10:17 pm

I just wanted to check to see if this is just me or have others been experiencing this problem.

since the change to H.264 when viewing recordings WMC frequently locks up and it seems to happen when I skip forward or backwards. I am not sure if it is because I use the skip function too many times or too frequently. the only way out is to power off the Xbox and restart.
gary94080
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 9 June 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#2 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 7:23 am

Which channels are you seeing this happen on? I know when I watch live TV on a channel that's been converted, I haven't seem any issues, but will say that I have yet to watch a recording from a converted channel.

Let me know which channel, & I'll see if I have something already recorded, or I'll recorded some shows & see if I can duplicate what you're seeing
choliscott
 
Posts: 501
Joined: 19 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#3 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 3:19 pm

Yes i have had this happen 2 times in the last week. For me on channel 790 MSNBC (Comcast-win7 WMC). in the morning i pause the channel make a breakfast then watch so i can skip through. it seems when i skip forward then backward to fast or often it locks up. I then have to hit ctl alt delete and restart media center. This issue was on my mind when i checked in here this morning.
User avatar
spanner
 
Posts: 231
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: Corbett Oregon USA
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#4 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:54 pm

choliscott wrote:Which channels are you seeing this happen on? I know when I watch live TV on a channel that's been converted, I haven't seem any issues, but will say that I have yet to watch a recording from a converted channel.

Let me know which channel, & I'll see if I have something already recorded, or I'll recorded some shows & see if I can duplicate what you're seeing


I know there are others but Disney Channel and MSNBC are two that come to mind.
gary94080
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 9 June 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#5 » Sun Nov 06, 2016 5:03 pm

spanner wrote:Yes i have had this happen 2 times in the last week. For me on channel 790 MSNBC (Comcast-win7 WMC). in the morning i pause the channel make a breakfast then watch so i can skip through. it seems when i skip forward then backward to fast or often it locks up. I then have to hit ctl alt delete and restart media center. This issue was on my mind when i checked in here this morning.


for me it can be several times a day, sometimes a couple of times watching the same program.

I typically watch on Xbox so I was thinking it might be something happening there but it looks like it may be a problem on the computer as well.

I will have to be careful when I watch from the computer. I frequently watch one program as another one is being recorded.
gary94080
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 9 June 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#6 » Sat Nov 12, 2016 9:15 pm

I haven't replicated this (yet) on my main screen, but was able to replicate the freeze skipping hard through a recording on my XBOX extender on a channel that's switched over (CNN). Playback froze about 23 minutes in skipping forward rapidly. Not so much if I only skipped a few times (e.g. commercial break) and let it sync.

After it froze, could not get XBOX to start playing anything else. Menus were still responsive, so was able to close MC from main menu and restart GUI, and resume playing items.

Death by paper cuts. Not sure how bad this problem will be... I watch mostly on main screen, but use the XBOX for bedtime.
webminster
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan

Post#7 » Tue Nov 15, 2016 11:49 pm

I see more of my premium channels have converted over to 720p MPEG4 - Cinemax, Showtime. On my main screen, they're massively pixelation/macroblocked. Other channels (HBO, Encore) aren't exhibiting this, nor are my non-DRMed channels, so not thinking this is the video card. The Prime tuner shows 100% for strength and quality.Anyone else seen something like this, shoul I bark at Comcast?
webminster
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan

Post#8 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 4:24 am

there was an Xbox update this morning.

I have notice that skipping forward and back seems to be smoother. I tried moving back and forth quickly and so far I have not been able to get it to crash.
gary94080
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 9 June 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#9 » Fri Nov 18, 2016 3:26 pm

I have a visit from Comcast scheduled today to verify signal, but I'm betting this will just degenerate to "your weird box is to blame, not our stuff." I get some random intermittent glitches (lines) in the top third of the display on a few channels, and SHOW and HBO HD often tile and block badly. ENCORE HD seems good. Not sure how I'm going to argue this, since I guess I can't be 100% it /isn't/ my card/drivers that aren't causing it (GTX750 with a couple of different driver revs).

I do get a Bolt+ and Mini's delivered today...
webminster
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan

Post#10 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:18 am

gary94080 wrote:there was an Xbox update this morning.

I have notice that skipping forward and back seems to be smoother. I tried moving back and forth quickly and so far I have not been able to get it to crash.


I spoke too soon, still experiencing crashes.
gary94080
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 9 June 2013
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
HTPC Specs: Show details

Post#11 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:30 pm

User avatar
Scallica
 
Posts: 2184
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: USA!
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Post#12 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:40 pm

Very aware, yes. Given the paper cuts death my WMC install is suffering, I was willing to suffer that. At least until I realized the other damage Comcast is inflicting, the lowered bitrate and 720p downgrades... now nothing looks like a good choice. Except satellite, which I really didn't want to do.
webminster
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 20 December 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
-Alan

Post#13 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:57 pm

webminster wrote:Very aware, yes. Given the paper cuts death my WMC install is suffering, I was willing to suffer that. At least until I realized the other damage Comcast is inflicting, the lowered bitrate and 720p downgrades... now nothing looks like a good choice. Except satellite, which I really didn't want to do.


I've been using Silicondust's DVR and haven't had PQ issues that I'm seeing in MC. I obviously can't speak for DRM encrusted channels.
User avatar
mcewinter
 
Posts: 973
Joined: 30 June 2011
Location: Chicago
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran


Return to Cable Systems



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron