TV replacement

Talk about speakers, TVs, receivers, STBs, etc.

TV replacement

Post#1 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 5:55 pm

My Samsung tv needs replacing. There doesn't seem to be many tv's available with PC input now, but I don't use the 15 pin connection anyway. I use hdmi. But I do use the audio input from the PC.

Would there be any syncing problems if I found a tv without audio input, uséd hdmi and ran the speakers straight from the PC?
rhendrix9
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 April 2013

Post#2 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:48 pm

I have an i3 HTPC connected to a Samsung TV via HDMI A single male to malt audio connector from the PC to the TV.

I am having problems with my TV, so I've just started looking around to replace it.
There doesn't seem to be many TV's available with PC input now, but I don't use the 15 pin connection anyway. I use hdmi. But I do use the audio input from the PC.

Would there be any syncing problems if I found a TV without audio input, used HDMI and ran a line to standalone speakers straight from the PC? And wouls I have to worry about resolution problems if the TV does not recognize input from a PC.

I guess do I even need to be concerned whether or not a TV needs to be PC aware, other that audio input?


Any ideas would be appreciated

BTW were is a good place to see TV reliability information?

[Moderator note: topics merged; duplicate threads not allowed]
rhendrix9
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 April 2013

Post#3 » Sun Feb 22, 2015 6:37 pm

rhendrix9 wrote:I have an i3 HTPC connected to a Samsung TV via HDMI A single male to malt audio connector from the PC to the TV.

I am having problems with my TV, so I've just started looking around to replace it.
There doesn't seem to be many TV's available with PC input now, but I don't use the 15 pin connection anyway. I use hdmi. But I do use the audio input from the PC.

Would there be any syncing problems if I found a TV without audio input, used HDMI and ran a line to standalone speakers straight from the PC? And wouls I have to worry about resolution problems if the TV does not recognize input from a PC.

I guess do I even need to be concerned whether or not a TV needs to be PC aware, other that audio input?


Any ideas would be appreciated

BTW were is a good place to see TV reliability information?

[Moderator note: topics merged; duplicate threads not allowed]


The audio question you ask should have no problem working. I run HDMI out from my PC for video and an audio line out to a sound bar for audio and have no sync issues.
LuckyDay
 
Posts: 586
Joined: 11 July 2011

Post#4 » Sun Feb 22, 2015 7:02 pm

The audio question you ask should have no problem working. I run HDMI out from my PC for video and an audio line out to a sound bar for audio and have no sync issues.

Thanks
rhendrix9
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 14 April 2013

Post#5 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 2:34 pm

To be a bit more specific. You should have no problem if your PC has HDMI out. You will have a problem if your output is DVI convertered to HDMI with an adapter. This is because DVI, generally, does not carry sound. WIth this situation you would need another sound output from the computer to send to the tv. Most newer PC's have HDMI out as well as 90% of video cards. All HDMI standards carry sound.
koberhol
 
Posts: 58
Joined: 30 July 2013
Location: Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#6 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 4:30 pm

koberhol wrote:You should have no problem if your PC has HDMI out.


"should" is the key word here. Many people, myself included, experience an issue with HDMI audio where when audio is 2 ch, the volume doubles in level when using HDMI. This is most apparent on subchannels which send 2ch audio and on FOX network stations. For some reason they seem to inject local commercials and news broadcasts in 2 ch audio while network audio is 6ch, which causes their audio to vary wildly up and down in level. It's particularly annoying when commercials suddenly double in volume over regular programming. I dont experience this when running audio directly to speakers from the PC, bypassing HDMI. This is a WMC issue because the TV's own tuner doesnt do this.

So I'd say your proposed implementation is more desired over using straight HDMI.
dmagerl
 
Posts: 328
Joined: 6 June 2011

Post#7 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 6:15 pm

rhendrix9 wrote:Would there be any syncing problems if I found a TV without audio input, used HDMI and ran a line to standalone speakers straight from the PC?

Some TVs have a delay in the HDMI processing; for example, people playing games will experience lag on some sets. Some TVs even have a 'game' mode that eliminates the lag by bypassing some of the image processing.

If you use sound from the computer's speakers and the TV you get has a lag, then yes, you may have audio and video out of sync. Newer TVs should either not have a lag or should have a game mode. Some older TVs (made before gamers complained) might have an issue.
mike_ekim
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 7 February 2014


Return to AV Equipment / Home Automation



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron