Suggestions for New Coax Splitter

Talk about speakers, TVs, receivers, STBs, etc.

Suggestions for New Coax Splitter

Post#1 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 11:07 pm

I'm in the market for replacing my two splitters. Having some issues with a few channels but others are all just fine. Tried swapping CableCARDs, Tuning Adapters, and new Cables. I'd like to swap my splitters but really have no idea what's considered good. There's just too many to chose from!

I have one Cable Modem, two Ceton InfiniTV dongles, and two Motorloa SDV tuning adapters. I also have the old HD CableBox from the cableco that would be nice to plugin but isn't a requirement. So 5 or 6 devices total. All the connections are all next to each other and the main line coming directly from the outside is also right there. In a house, not apartment. All good RG6 cables with compression ends & rubber boots.

Just looking for what splitter I should get.

Thanks!
User avatar
TheOsburnFamil
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 11 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
Matt O. ...tivo what? ...dish dvr--uh... huh? ...cable dvr fees--you're kidding, right?

Post#2 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:03 am

User avatar
Scallica
 
Posts: 2467
Joined: 6 June 2011
Location: USA!
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB VeteranStaff
HTPC Enthusiast / Forum Moderator - TGB.tv Code of Conduct

Post#3 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:34 am


Thanks!

Based on my OP scenario (cable modem, cableco box, 2 ceton's, 2 ta's)... Should I just get a single 6 port splitter, or should I get a 2 Port TAP plus a 4 port splitter and run the CableModem & CableCo box to the TAPs and the 4 port splitter (connecting the 2 cetons & 2 ta's) to the OUT?
User avatar
TheOsburnFamil
 
Posts: 320
Joined: 11 June 2011
HTPC Specs: Show details
2+ YrsTGB Veteran
Matt O. ...tivo what? ...dish dvr--uh... huh? ...cable dvr fees--you're kidding, right?

Post#4 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:53 am

IMO you are splitting your signal too much, just get 2 quality 2 ways and route your TA line to your Ceton. You could even do a 3 way and put your cable modem on the same tap.
cwinfield
 
Posts: 472
Joined: 12 February 2013
Location: Monroe, NC
HTPC Specs: Show details


Return to AV Equipment / Home Automation



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron