Question about wiring in-wall CAT6

Talk about setting up your home network.
snappie

HTPC Specs: Show details

Question about wiring in-wall CAT6

Post by snappie » Tue Dec 10, 2013 1:10 am

Hi,

I hope this is the right forum for my question. I did some searching, but couldn't find my answer.

I'm trying to run CAT6 cables for the first time in an old home. I'm still an amateur when it comes to cabling and networking. From my research, I came across most people suggested running this method:
[CABLE MODEM] > patch cable > [ROUTER] > patch cable > [GIGABIT SWITCH] > patch cable > [PATCH PANEL] > CAT6 solid cable (in-wall) > [KEYSTONE JACK] > patch cable > [NETWORKED DEVICE]

However, I only need to run 2 CAT6 cables from room to room. So I was wondering if I can do away without a patch panel, with the following design:

Code: Select all

3rd Floor:       [CABLE MODEM + WIRELESS ROUTER]                       [COMPUTER] 
                                           |                               |
                                     patch cable                     patch cable
                                  [KEYSTONE JACK]                [KEYSTONE JACK]
                             CAT6 solid cable (in-wall)       CAT6 solid cable (in-wall)
2nd Floor:                       [KEYSTONE JACK]                           |
                                [GIGABIT SWITCH]                    [KEYSTONE JACK]
                                     /         \___________________________|
                           patch cable           
                                   |
                        [XBOX + HDhomerun Prime]