Dell PowerConnect 5324

Talk about setting up your home network.

Re: Dell PowerConnect 5324

Post#121 » Tue Apr 21, 2015 2:32 am

They canceled my order due to being out of stock. Ticks me off. They were $100 bucks cheaper than everyone else.
User avatar
Venom51
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 12 June 2011
Location: Cumming,GA
1+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#122 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:38 am

Bummer
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#123 » Thu May 07, 2015 1:38 pm

It took me long enough, but I think I figured out what the problem is. When I ran the Wan+2Lan2 wizard the subnets were created and assigned to separate ports of the ERL (Eth1 and Eth2). Even though the switch was configured correctly (well mostly), the router refused to accept the devices intended for the 192.168.2.1/24 subnet through Eth1. This necessitated enabling switch port 23 as an egress for 192.168.2.1/24 and cabling 23 to Eth2.

Haven't quite figured out how to change the router yet. Sounds easy enough to just add Lan2 to Eth1 but, not sure of the ramifications, and I'm sure there are lots of them.

Does this make any sense or am I still in the same nightmare?
Attachments
ERLite3.JPG
ERLite2.JPG
ERLite.JPG
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#124 » Thu Jul 30, 2015 8:23 pm

I'm pretty backed up with work at the moment but give me a few days and I'll tell you exactly how to do it. I just got my EdgeRouter Pro in yesterday and got my load balancing setup running. Not bad so far. Terminology is not far off. Methodology is different though so it will take a little time to know what I need to know.
User avatar
Venom51
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 12 June 2011
Location: Cumming,GA
1+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#125 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:31 am

So you need to build a VLAN interface for the second VLAN.

Do the following. Go to the dashboard and select add interface and select VLAN.
Image

Assign a VLAN ID and an IP address for the interface. In this case it would be the 192.168.2.1/24 interface. You'll likely need to remove that from the eth2 interface before trying to add it to the VLAN interface.

Image

Now plug your trunk link from the switch into eth1 on the ERL and you should be good to go.

Lastly you should update the firmware on the router. 1.7.0 is out and has a nice traffic analyzer that will give you quick view into what's passing through the router.
User avatar
Venom51
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 12 June 2011
Location: Cumming,GA
1+ YrsTGB Veteran

Post#126 » Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:43 pm

Just a short not to let you know I received your message.

You are so cool. Thanks.

Busy with out of state guests until Aug 4-5. I'll get on it next week.
User avatar
Crash2009
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: 17 May 2012
Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
HTPC Specs: Show details
5+ YrsTGB Veteran

Previous

Return to Networking / Windows Home Server



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron